The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release

Nov. 29, 2005

Three UI Faculty Members Win Fulbright Awards

Three faculty members in the University of Iowa College of Liberal Arts and Sciences have won Fulbright Scholar grants for the 2005-06 academic year.

Rudi Colloredo-Mansfeld, associate professor of anthropology, Laura Graham, associate professor of anthropology, and T.M. Scruggs, associate professor of music, are spending all or part of the academic year teaching and conducting research abroad.

Colloredo-Mansfeld will travel to Quito, Ecuador during the spring 2006 semester to lecture and conduct research on "Culture and Economy: Ecuadorian Cultural Commons as a Basis of Economic Growth" with the Latin American Faculty of Social Sciences (FLASCO.) He will lead a graduate training course in economic anthropology at FLACSO-Ecuador, beginning in Quito and moving to a research practicum in Imbabura. This fieldwork in two, ethnically distinct textile centers, studying how manufacturers exploit cultural histories to become globally competitive, will set up long-term advising relationships with FLACSO graduate students.

Graham and Scruggs are both spending the full academic year at the University of the Andes in Merida, Venezuela. Graham's research focuses on "Indigenous Peoples in Public/Language, Culture and Performance." Scruggs is investigating, "Music, Communication and the Politics of Culture in Contemporary Venezuela."

According to the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board, about 850 U.S. faculty and professionals will travel abroad to some 150 countries this academic year through the Fulbright Scholar Program. Established in 1946 under legislation introduced by the late Sen. J. William Fulbright of Arkansas, the program's purpose is to build mutual understanding between the people of the United States and other countries.

The Fulbright Program is sponsored by the U. S. Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. Recipients of Fulbright awards -- both U.S. and international -- are selected on the basis of academic or professional achievement and because they have demonstrated extraordinary leadership potential in their fields.

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa News Services, 300 Plaza Centre One, Suite 371, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-2500.

MEDIA CONTACT: Mary Geraghty Kenyon, 319-384-0011,;