The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release

May 27, 2005

UI Dentistry Students, Faculty Honored

Nine students and three faculty members from the University of Iowa College of Dentistry were awarded honors by Omicron Kappa Upsilon (OKU), a national honor dental society.

Joshua E. Everts, a third-year dental student, received the William S. Kramer Award of Excellence. The annual award is given to an outstanding junior dental student who has demonstrated scholarship, character and potential promise for the advancement of dentistry and service to humanity. 

The OKU honorary dental award is given to faculty and fourth-year dental students. The student recipients are: Curtis Kyo-Shin Andrews, Peter Weon Joon Cho, Janelle Curtis Eckdhal, Jamie John Heying, Alex Eugene Klein, Alexander J. Sierk, Stanton David Widmer and Maureen S. Winslow.

The honorary faculty award was presented to Steven H. Clark, D.D.S., a visiting assistant professor in the Department of Family Dentistry, and Teresa Marshall, Ph.D., an assistant professor in the Department of Preventive and Community Dentistry. Adjunct assistant professor Tracy Kittrell, D.D.S., of Iowa City, received the honorary award for adjunct faculty.

OKU was founded in 1914, and the MU Chapter was chartered at the UI in 1923. The three Greek letters represent teeth, health and conservation.

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa Health Science Relations, 5139 Westlawn, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1178

MEDIA CONTACT: David Pedersen, (319) 335-8032,; Writer: Whitney Tripp.