The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release

May 27, 2005

Local UI Student Receives Dentistry Award

University of Iowa College of Dentistry student (student name) was presented the honorary dental award from the UI chapter of Omicron Kappa Upsilon (OKU), a national honor dental society. (Student last name) is the (son/daughter) of (parents).

The OKU honorary dental award is given to fourth-year dental students. OKU was founded in 1914, and the UI chapter was chartered in 1923. The three Greek letters represent teeth, health and conservation.


Bettendorf: Aric Eugene Klein, Ron and Mary Klein; Alexander J. Sierk, Donald and Patricia Sierk

Iowa City: Peter Weon Joon Cho, In Soo and Soon Hee Cho

Norwalk: Maureen S. Winslow, Jim and Theresa Watts

Sioux City: Jamie John Heying, Mr. and Mrs. Ken Heying


Sugar City: Curtis Kyo-Shin Andrews, Doug and Margarette Andrews


Schullsburg: Janelle Curtis Eckdhal, Ken and Heather Curtis    


Evanston: Stanton David Widmer, Steve and Mary Widmer

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa Health Science Relations, 5139 Westlawn, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1178

MEDIA CONTACT: David Pedersen, (319) 335-8032,