The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release

May 26, 2005

Students Initiated Into Pi Lambda Theta Education Honor Society

(NAME OF PERSON) of (HOMETOWN) was recently initiated into the Theta Chapter of the Pi Lambda Theta International Honor Society and Professional Association at the University of Iowa.

He/She and other UI students were accepted into the education honorary organization during a special ceremony April 30 in Iowa City.

Members of the organization, which was founded in 1910, include teachers, administrators and others involved in some aspect of education, including undergraduate and graduate students pursuing degrees in education. Students must have a 3.5 grade point average to be considered for membership.

In addition to providing people within the education field an opportunity to network, Pi Lambda Theta provides members access to a career services web site, publishes a journal called Educational Horizons and conducts meetings three times a year, each with an educational focus. The society also presents scholarships to students pursuing undergraduate and graduate degrees.

EDITORS: Initiates are listed alphabetically by hometown, with Iowa students listed first. In some instances, students' names may appear under two hometowns to reflect their temporary and permanent residences.


Cedar Rapids: Amanda Crosby

Cedar Rapids: Amy Russell 

Cedar Rapids: David R. Byrd

Clinton: Megan M. Vens

Clear Lake: Nichole Lindquist

Coralville: Michael Albarracin

Cresco: Lindsay Ellingson

Des Moines: Whitney Ross

Floris: Jessica Chickering

Iowa City: Hillary Elizabeth Barth

Iowa City: Angie Cozine

Iowa City: Elizabeth Stemmler

Iowa City: Patricia Campanelli

Iowa City: Bridget McIlhon

Kiron: Brooke Lafrentz

LeClaire: Nancy Benson Peterson

Mount Vernon: Robyn Elli Marlow

New London: Bobbi Lamm

Newton: Jennifer Thomson

Urbandale: Allison Leigh Rockwell

West Branch: Heather Martens

West Des Moines: Lindsay Smith

Williamsburg: Carmen J. West


Barrington: Lucy Ann Brignola

Cary: Jennifer Venise Brandwein

Des Plaines: Karin Malinowski

Elk Grove: Katie Martynowicz

Elmhurst: Erica Cerrone

Elmhurst: Christine Kotarba

Lake Bluff: Emily Campbell

Libertyville: Molly O'Brien

Mount Prospect: Nicole Guarino

Mundelein: Kelsey Darden

Rolling Meadows: Amelia Garfinkel

Rolling Meadows: Meghan Walker

St. Charles: Kathryn Bullock

Sycamore: Maria K. Smith


Oley: Tammy Leister


Oconomowoc: Nicole Vespa

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa News Services, 300 Plaza Centre One, Suite 371, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-2500.

MEDIA CONTACT: Media: Stephen Pradarelli, 319-384-0007,