The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release

May 16, 2005

UI College Of Public Health Honors Eight Outstanding Alumni

The University of Iowa College of Public Health announces the recipients of the 2005 Outstanding Alumni Awards. The award recognizes alumni for outstanding past accomplishments, promise for future success and commitment to the college's mission, vision and goals.

The awards honor "up-and-coming" graduates as well as prominent alumni who have been in their field of practice for more than 10 years. The third annual Outstanding Alumni Awards were presented at the College of Public Health's annual honors dinner on May 13.

"We are pleased to recognize and honor these exceptional graduates of our college," said Lawrence Prybil, Ph.D., associate dean for external relations and chair of the college's Alumni Relations Council.

This year's recipients of the UI College of Public Health's Outstanding Alumni Award are:

-- Clyde Berry, Hendersonville, N.C., professor emeritus, UI Department of Occupational and Environmental Health. Berry earned a Ph.D. in Industrial Hygiene in 1941. He is credited with creating the foundation of today's industrial hygiene program at the UI as well as being an exceptional teacher and mentor. 

-- Caroline Carney Doebbling, associate professor, Departments of Psychiatry and Internal Medicine, Indiana University School of Medicine. She earned an M.D. from the UI in 1992 and an M.S. from the Department of Preventive Medicine and Environmental Health in 1999. She is known for her work at the intersection of mental health epidemiology and mental health services, and in medical and psychiatric co-morbidity. She serves as the behavioral health consultant to Wellmark and consults regularly to the Mental Health Association of Indiana as well as Indiana Medicaid. She is a recipient of the American Psychiatric Institute's Health Services Research Scholar Award.

-- John W. Colloton, director emeritus, UI Hospitals and Clinics, Iowa City, Iowa. Colloton earned an M.A. in Hospital and Health Administration in 1957. From 1971-1993 he served as director and chief executive officer of UI Hospitals and Clinics. He compiled an outstanding record of accomplishment at the state and national levels, culminating in his 2002 induction into the Horatio Alger Association of Distinguished Americans and the National Healthcare Hall of Fame in 2003.

-- Richard Knapp, executive vice president, Association of American Medical Colleges, Washington, D.C. Knapp earned an M.A. in Hospital and Health Administration in 1965 and a Ph.D. in Hospital and Health Administration in 1968. He has held leadership posts in a variety of educational and health care organizations, including Inova Health System, a not-for-profit health care organization in Northern Virginia with annual revenues over $1 billion. In 1997, he was elected to the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences.

-- Greg Kullman, senior research industrial hygienist, National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health, Morgantown, W. Va. Kullman earned a Ph.D. in Occupational and Environmental Health in 1995. He is noted for his work in the area of occupational exposures and lung disease, and in agricultural health and safety. He has received numerous Public Health Service Awards for his work, including emergency response efforts following the World Trade Center and anthrax attacks in 2001.

-- Samuel Levey, the Gerhard Hartman Professor of Health Management and Policy in the UI College of Public Health. Levey earned an M.A. in Hospital and Health Administration in 1959 and a Ph.D. in Hospital and Health Administration in 1961. He has held several executive positions in Massachusetts state government and been the head of three academic departments in health management and policy, including the UI Graduate Program in Hospital and Health Administration from 1977-1991.

-- Motomi Mori, associate professor and head, Division of Biostatistics, Department of Public Health & Preventive Medicine; director of Biostatistics Shared Resource of the Cancer Institute, Oregon Health and Science University, Portland, Ore. Mori earned a Ph.D. in Biostatistics in 1989. She has published pioneering papers on the topic of informatively censored data, a new area of inquiry in biostatistics, and she is renowned for her work in cancer research and genetic research including population genetics of HLA system and its impact on the size of national blood and marrow donor registries.

-- Frederick Toca, president, Atlantic Environmental Incorporated, Dover, N. J. Toca earned a Ph.D. in Preventive Medicine and Environmental Health in 1972. He is the recipient of two of the highest awards in the field of industrial hygiene: the Henry F. Smyth Award and the Borden Award. He has testified before Congress on reform to the Occupational Safety and Health Act and was named one of the most influential industrial hygienists in the United States by Occupational Hazards Magazine.

Nominations for the 2006 Outstanding Alumni Awards are now invited from all faculty, staff, alumni and friends of the college. The selection criteria, process and timeline, and nomination forms are available online at or by contacting the college's director of Alumni and Community Relations at 319-384-5485. Nomination packets must be postmarked no later than Dec. 1, 2005.

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa College of Public Health Office of Communications, 4257 Westlawn, Iowa City, Iowa, 52242

MEDIA CONTACT: Kate Gleeson, 319-384-4277,

PHOTOS: Available upon request.