The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release

May 12, 2005

Lee Named Argonne National Laboratory Fellow In Scientific Computing

Taehun Lee, a postdoctoral associate working with Ching-Long Lin, University of Iowa College of Engineering associate professor of mechanical and industrial engineering and associate faculty research engineer at IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering, has been named the Argonne National Laboratory 2005 Wilkinson Fellow in Scientific Computing, the most prestigious international postdoctoral fellowship in computational mathematics.

Created in 1988 and named in honor of the late James Hardy Wilkinson, noted mathematician and Fellow of the Royal Society, the fellowship is intended to encourage young scientists actively engaged in state-of-the-art research in scientific computing to interact with scientists at Argonne. The fellowship, renewable for a second year, includes a highly competitive salary, moving expenses and a generous professional travel allowance.

Lee, who came to the University of Iowa from Seoul, South Korea in 1999, obtained his doctoral degree in December 2004 under the direction of Lin. Lee's thesis develops state-of-the-art mesoscopic lattice Boltzmann methods for two-phase microfluidic systems with an application to surface-directed virtual wall dynamics.

Lee is the first-ever UI College of Engineering recipient. Previously, Mihai Anitescu, who earned his doctorate in the UI Applied Math and Computational Science Program in 1997, was named the 1997 Wilkinson Fellow in Scientific Computing.

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa News Services, 300 Plaza Centre One, Suite 371, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-2500.

MEDIA CONTACT: Gary Galluzzo, 319-384-0009,