The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release

May 5, 2005

UI Pharmacy Student Named To Honor Society

(Student name) of (hometown), a student in the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy, was inducted as a member of the Rho Chi Society, the national academic honor society in pharmacy, during an initiation ceremony April 22 in Iowa City.

(Student last name) was inducted to the Delta Chapter, the UI-based chapter of the Rho Chi Society. To be accepted into the society, students must rank in the highest 20 percent of their class after having completed six semesters of scholastic work applicable toward their pharmacy degrees. Graduate students must have at least half of their coursework completed and maintain a grade point average of 3.5 in order to be nominated.

Established in 1922, the Rho Chi Society encourages and recognizes excellence in intellectual achievement and advocates critical inquiry in all aspects of pharmacy.

Rho Chi has traditionally participated in many activities at the UI, including National Pharmacy Week, tutor referral services and the Mobile Clinic, which provides health care to underserved individuals within the Iowa City community.

EDITORS: Scholarship winners are listed below alphabetically by hometown, with Iowa inductees listed first.


Bettendorf: Dane Shiltz
Clinton: Chelsea Hunter
Coralville: Jennifer Eyberg
Davenport: Heather Arnold
Des Moines: Molly Pille
Garner: Jon Godden
Iowa City: Emily Frauenholtz, Phyllis Hemerson
LeMars: Beth Renken
North Liberty: Christopher Toth
Pella: Minh Pham
Sioux Center: Amy Lassen
Sioux City: Nolan Ngo
Spencer: Mary Beth Leistad
Waterloo: Pamela Murphy
West Des Moines: Jaclyn Sprock


Lemon Grove: Karen Bui


DeKalb: Jennifer Krause
Downers Grove: Cheryl Ozog
Gages Lake: Joanne Reiland
Port Byron: Meaghan Tredrea


Monroe City: Erica Long

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa Health Science Relations, 5135 Westlawn, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1178

CONTACTS: David Pedersen, 319-335-8032,; Writer: Christine Nicholson