The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release

March 25, 2005

College Of Liberal Arts and Sciences Presents Awards For Staff Excellence

Linda Maxson, dean of the University of Iowa College of Liberal Arts and Sciences (CLAS), recognized the outstanding efforts of the college's staff members with an award ceremony and reception March 22.

Winners of the 2005 Mary Louise Kelley Staff Excellence Awards are: Rick Bennett, systems administrator and programmer, CLAS-IT group; Lois Friday, administrative specialist, psychology; Brenda Gritsch, administrative assistant, School of Journalism & Mass Communication; Pat Mason-Browne, assistant director, CLAS-Academic Programs & Services; and Denise Matthes, clerk, theatre arts. These awards recognize staff for outstanding contributions that have significantly benefited a particular unit in the college, or have brought recognition to the college and the university.

Winners of the 2005 Mary Louise Kelley Professional Development Awards are: Kathleen Kemp, program associate, School of Social Work; David McGraw, assistant manager, technical services/stage manager, theatre arts; Christine Anderson, Lori Cranston, Amber Seaton, Cynthia Smith and Suzanne Stratton, CLAS accounting team; Cynthia Miles, secretary, CLAS external relations; and Chuck Wieland, administrative assistant, CLAS-Phillips Hall Group. These awards help staff to defray the costs of course work, workshops, training opportunities on or off campus, or attendance at regional, national, or international meetings.

The Staff Excellence and Professional Development Awards are named in honor of Mary Louise Kelley, who served as secretary to Dean Dewey Stuit for nearly 30 years. Stuit was dean of the college from 1948 to 1977, and as his sole staff member, Kelley made significant contributions to his administration. The awards were established with a gift from her sister, Alice Kelley.

Also recognized at the ceremony were staff members who have served the college for 10, 20, 30, and 40 years.

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa News Services, 300 Plaza Centre One, Suite 371, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-2500.

MEDIA CONTACT: Mary Geraghty Kenyon, 319-384-0011,