The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release

March 25, 2005

Iowa Chamber Music Coalition Plays Mozart On April 10 At UI

The Iowa Chamber Music Coalition, a collaborative effort among musicians across Iowa, will present a concert of music by W.A. Mozart at 3 p.m. Sunday, April 10 in Clapp Recital Hall on the University of Iowa campus.

The concert, featuring faculty from the University of Iowa School of Music and from Grinnell College, will be free and open to the public.

The Iowa Chamber Music Coalition (ICMC) involves music faculty at the UI, Grinnell and other institutions around the state. The ICMC was founded to foster good relations among colleagues through performances of chamber music.

UI faculty performers for the April 10 concert will include violinist Katie Wolfe, violist Christine Rutledge, cellist Anthony Arnone and bassist Volkan Orhon. Performers from Grinnell College will be violinist Nancy McFarlane Gaub and pianist Eugene Gaub.

The program features some little known works by Mozart, including an unusual arrangement for chamber ensemble made by an unknown contemporary of the composer. The complete program will be:

-- a duo for violin and viola, played by Wolfe and Christine Rutledge;

-- the Piano Quartet No. 3, which is an arrangement by Mozart of a wind piece, played by Nancy McFarlane Gaub, Rutledge, Arnone and Eugene Gaub; and

-- Sestetto for 2 violins, 2 violas, cello, and double bass, an anonymous arrangement of Mozart's Sinfonia Concertante in E-flat major for violin, viola and orchestra, K364.

"This concert is a tribute to Mozart and contains some interesting choices of repertoire," Rutledge said.

"The Piano Quartet No. 3 is not often performed, but is a delightful work. The sestetto is a wonderfully fun piece to play and hear. An anonymous contemporary of Mozart arranged the Sinfonia concertante for six strings -- two violins, two violas, two cellos/double bass. The solos and tuttis are strung throughout so that all six players get a chance to shine. The work was 'revived' by the American composer and conductor Gunther Schuller, who edited it for performance."

Mozart wrote the Sinfonia concertante for violin and viola in 1779 in Salzburg, soon after his return from a trip that had taken him to Mannheim and Paris -- cities where the concertante, or concerto for more than one solo instrument, was a popular genre. Both cities were known for their orchestras of virtuosos, and Mozart was probably wanting to show that he and the Salzburg orchestra were as good as the players in the musical capitols of Europe.

In the original work, the two soloists mostly play in dialogue, with the viola taking over phrases first played by the violin and varying them in some way, before the two instruments join together for the ends of sections. It is the dialogue passages that are passed among all six instruments in the sestetto arrangement, giving each player the opportunity to be a soloist.

Rutledge joined the UI faculty in 1998. She has appeared as soloist, chamber musician and orchestral player throughout the United States and abroad. She performs as a member of the Fontana Chamber Music Festival ensemble. Her performances and recordings with the Notre Dame String Trio have earned glowing reviews from The Strad, Fanfare and other music publications. She has performed a wide range of repertoire, including standard viola repertoire, her own transcriptions of Baroque works, several lesser known works for viola and new works that were written specifically for her.

Originally from Minnesota, Wolfe joined the string faculty of the UI School of Music in August. She has had a diverse career as a soloist, teacher, chamber and orchestral musician on the national and international stage. She has performed in the United States, Canada, Costa Rica, Bolivia, Malaysia, Korea, Japan, the Soviet Union, Spain and the Netherlands. She received a Fulbright Lecture Award to teach and perform in Bolivia, where she formed a string quartet that performed educational and public concerts throughout the country, taught at the National Conservatory and served as Associate Concertmaster of the National Symphony of Bolivia.

Arnone is a founding member of the Meriden Trio and the Sedgwick String Quartet, which regularly performs at the Spoleto Festival in Charleston, S.C. He was principal cellist of the Madison Symphony in Wisconsin 1996-2001, was a member of the Orchestra Philharmonique de Nice and the Wichita Symphony, and was principal cellist of the Spoleto Festival in Italy 1992-1997. He has taught master classes and performed across the country and currently teaches summers at the Eastern Music Festival in North Carolina and the Stonybrook Music Festival in New York.

Orhon joined the UI faculty in the fall of 2002. His professional career spans a wide variety of solo, orchestral and chamber music performing and teaching across the country and around the world. He has played with internationally recognized musicians including double bassist Gary Karr and the Emerson String Quartet. He has performed as soloist with orchestras across the country. In addition to his solo playing, he has been a member of the Hartford Symphony Orchestra, Connecticut Opera Orchestra and a freelance musician throughout New England.

Nancy McFarland Gaub directs the chamber music ensembles and teaches both violin and viola at Grinnell, and she performs frequently on the Grinnell Chamber Music Series and in many other venues. Together with her husband she is co-artistic director of the Roycroft Chamber Music Festival, which they founded in East Aurora, N.Y. in 1994. She has performed at the Aspen, Spoleto (Italy), Chautauqua, Stowe, Adirondack, Grant Park Symphony and Eastern Music Festivals, and the Festival de Invierno in San Miguel de Allende, Mexico. She has also performed as soloist on radio and television broadcasts.

Since his New York debut playing the First Piano Concerto of Bela Bartok, Eugene Gaub has performed throughout the United States, Mexico and Canada and in major cities of Europe, including Vienna and Salzburg. He has worked closely with many American composers, including John Adams, whose "Phrygian Gates" he was invited to perform at the 1997 National Conference of the College Music Society. He appeared on the UI campus last spring in a program of Bach sonatas with violist Christine Rutledge, as part of her year-long Bach performance series.

The School of Music is part of the Division of Performing Arts in the UI College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

For information on UI arts events, visit on the World Wide Web. You may visit the UI School of Music web site at To receive UI arts news by e-mail, contact

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa Arts Center Relations, 300 Plaza Centre One, Suite 351, Iowa City, IA 52242-2500.

MEDIA CONTACT: Peter Alexander, 319-384-0072,