The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release

March 18, 2005

Lawry Honored By Iowa Chapter Of American College of Physicians

George V. "Geordie" Lawry, M.D., professor of internal medicine in the University of Iowa Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine, is one of two physicians selected to receive the 2005 Laureate Award, given by the Iowa Chapter of the American College of Physicians (ACP).

The Laureate Award honors those members of the ACP in Iowa who have demonstrated by their example and conduct an abiding commitment to excellence in medical care, education or research, and in service to their community and the ACP. Lawry will receive the award on April 1.

Lawry earned his undergraduate degree at Stanford University and his medical degree from Johns Hopkins University. He joined the UI faculty as a clinician-teacher in 1993. He has consistently been selected by UI medical students and residents as one of the top teachers in the college, having been awarded Teacher of the Year by the second- and fourth-year classes 10 times since 1993, and he has been nominated for the honor an additional 10 times.

In 1995, he was awarded the Lewis D. Holloway award for Research in Health Science Education, and he also was the recipient of the UI Collegiate Teaching Award. In 1998, he was the UI Carver College of Medicine nominee for the Alpha Omega Alpha Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teacher Award.

Lawry's research interests center around education, curriculum development and teaching effectiveness, with a focus on developing a three-part sequential curriculum to teach students, residents and practicing primary care physicians the essential skills of musculoskeletal physical examination.

According to the ACP, Lawry's "vision for contributing to the University of Iowa continues to lie first and foremost in his desire to promote excellence in teaching at all levels of the Department of Medicine and within the UI Carver College of Medicine."

Also receiving the Iowa Chapter ACP's Laureate Award is Paul D. Sosnouski, M.D., of the McFarland Clinic in Ames, Iowa.

University of Iowa Health Care describes the partnership between the UI Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine and UI Hospitals and Clinics and the patient care, medical education and research programs and services they provide. Visit UI Health Care online at

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa Health Science Relations, 5139 Westlawn, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1178

CONTACTS: Media: David Pedersen, (319) 335-8032,; Writer: Susan Green