The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release

March 4, 2005

Local Student To Compete In International Law Tournament

(name of student), a University of Iowa law student from (hometown), was a member of the Iowa law school's Jessup International Law Moot Court team that won the regional championship Feb. 27 in St. Louis and will compete in the international tournament in Washington, D.C. March 27-April 2.

(name of student) is a graduate of (name of school) High School and the son/daughter of (name of parent).

Sponsored by International Law Student Association, the Phillip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition is named after Philip Jessup, a judge of the International Court and has risen to the preeminent position of being one of the largest and most prestigious international law moot court competitions in the world. More than 1,600 students from 300 institutes all over the world take part in the competition every year addressing a question of international law.

The win is the first time the UI team won the Jessup competition since 1990. At the international competition, they will compete for the Jessup World Championship trophy against other U.S. regional winners and the winning national teams from more than 25 foreign countries.

The legal problem that teams argued this year was a dispute between two fictitious countries over responsibility for a shipwreck and deadly release of a radioactive substance into the ocean. The judges graded each team's oral and written arguments to determine the winner.

The UI team was victorious over such other Midwestern Regional teams as the University of Missouri, University of Arkansas, University of Minnesota, Denver University and William Mitchell College of Law.

NOTE TO EDITORS: Receipt of his release indicates that one of the students on the moot court team is from a town in your circulation area. Below are the names, hometowns, high school and parents of the team members.

Kathryn Auerbach; Oak Park, Ill.; Oak Park River Forest High School; Jean and Jesse Auerbach.

Karin Holt; Hudson, Wis.; Hudson High School; Barb and Dave Holt.

Demetrius Lambrinos; El Paso, Tex.; Cathedral High School; Jim Lambrinos and Marc Coronado.

Grant Tucker; Memphis, Tenn.; White Station High School; Cynthia Grant Tucker and David Tucker.

Diana Wagner; Colorado Springs, Colo.; Palmer High School; David and Cathy Wagner.

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa News Service, 300 Plaza Centre One, Suite 371, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-2500.

MEDIA CONTACT: Tom Snee, 319-384-0010,