The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release

Jan. 10, 2005

Osterhaus To Receive Pharmacy Profession's Highest Honor

Robert J. Osterhaus, a 1952 graduate of the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy and an adjunct faculty member in the college, has been named the recipient of the American Pharmacists Association (APhA) 2005 APhA Remington Honor Medal, the profession's highest honor.

Established in 1918, the award recognizes distinguished service on behalf of American pharmacy during the preceding year, culminating in the past year or during a long period of outstanding activity or achievement.

Osterhaus' career spans more than 50 years. He began at Kouba Pharmacy in Anamosa, and in 1965 he opened his own business, Osterhaus Pharmacy, in Maquoketa. Throughout his career he has worked to promote the pharmacist's role in patient care. Working in the 1990s with the Iowa Pharmacy Association (IPA) and the pharmacy colleges at the UI and Drake University, Osterhaus helped form the Iowa Center for Pharmaceutical Care to help facilitate the transition of pharmacy practices in Iowa to a pharmaceutical care-based model. In pharmaceutical care, pharmacists take an active role in the drug regimens of patients - communicating with physicians and identifying potential problems with drug interaction and drug duplication.

Osterhaus also has built a distinguished record of professional service. He was a member of the Iowa Board of Pharmacy Examiners from 1972 to 1977 and acted as chairman from 1974 to 1976. He served on the Iowa State Board of Pharmacy, including two years as chair in 1976 and 1977. He served as president of the IPA in 1983 and later as president of the APhA from 1992-1993. A longtime advocate for pharmacy education, Osterhaus was a board member of the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE) from 1990-1991 and 1996-2002 and ACPE president in 2000 and 2001. In addition, he was a member of the Iowa House of Representatives from 1996-2004.

"Osterhaus Pharmacy is one of our very best and most sought-after clerkship sites for students," said Jordan Cohen, dean of the UI College of Pharmacy. "They have a joint community pharmacy residency program with our college, and Bob is active in discussions involving how pharmacists and the college can work with the Iowa Department of Public Health and the state Medicaid program to enhance care and help control costs. Bob has been a tremendous leader in the profession."

Osterhaus will receive the Remington Honor Medal in April at the APhA annual meeting in Orlando, Fla.

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa Health Science Relations, 5139 Westlawn, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1178

MEDIA CONTACT: David Pedersen, 319-335-8032,