The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release

April 28, 2005

Loewenberg Elected To American Academy Of Arts And Sciences

Gerhard Loewenberg, emeritus professor of political science in the University of Iowa College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, is one of 213 leaders in scholarship, business, the arts and public affairs elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences for 2005.

Loewenberg retired in 2003 after more than 30 years on the college's political science faculty. He received his doctorate in political science from Cornell University in 1955 and taught at Mt. Holyoke College before joining the faculty at Iowa in 1970. He served as chair of the political science department from 1982 to 1984 and as dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences from 1984 to 1992.

He is a founder and co-editor of the research journal "Legislative Studies Quarterly," which is now the official journal of the Legislative Studies subsection of the American Political Science Association. He directs the UI's Comparative Legislative Research Center and served from 1990-2000 as vice chair of the East-West Parliamentary Practice Project, which assists emerging democracies with the shift from single-party to multiparty parliaments. He has published numerous scholarly books and journal articles and his colleagues worldwide consider him a leading authority on European parliaments.

"Jerry's election is the capstone to a long and distinguished career as legislative studies scholar," said Peverill Squire, professor of political science who has worked with Loewenberg for 20 years and co-edited Legislative Studies Quarterly with him for the last three years. "It is not a stretch to credit Jerry with establishing comparative legislative studies as a rigorous academic field and its growth and vibrancy are in large part due to his efforts. I am delighted that he is getting the national recognition that he richly deserves."

AAAS Fellows are nominated and elected to the Academy by current members. A broad-based membership, comprised of scholars and practitioners from mathematics, physics, biological sciences, social sciences, humanities and the arts, public affairs and business, gives the Academy a unique capacity to conduct a wide range of interdisciplinary studies and public policy research.

The Academy will welcome this year's new Fellows and Foreign Honorary Members at its annual induction ceremony on October 8, at the Academy's headquarters in Cambridge, Mass. More information is available on the academy's Web site,

"Jerry's years of dedicated service to the College are matched by his rigorous scholarship, and we are fortunate to have such an eminent scholar and teacher among us," said Linda Maxson, Dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. "I continue to rely on his wisdom and experience as a member of the Dean's Emeritus Advisory Committee. This latest honor is a fitting recognition of his contributions throughout a distinguished career."

Loewenberg is in distinguished company among this year's new Fellows, including Nobel Prize-winning physicist Eric Cornell of the University of Colorado, Supreme Court Chief Justice William Rehnquist, Academy Award-winning actor and director Sidney Poitier, journalist Tom Brokaw, Google co-founders Sergey Brin and Larry Page; architect, sculptor and designer of the Vietnam Veterans' Memorial in Washington, Maya Lin, and four Pulitzer Prize winners -- dramatist Horton Foote, playwright Tony Kushner, novelist Alison Lurie and cartoonist Art Spiegelman.

"This is a great honor and due recognition for Jerry's long and productive career," said Michael Lewis-Beck, professor and chair of political science. "We are pleased to have one of our members receive such high distinction."

There are approximately 4,000 Fellows and 600 Foreign Honorary Members worldwide including more than 150 Nobel laureates and 50 Pulitzer Prize winners. Loewenberg joins 10 other UI faculty members as Fellows: Francois Abboud, internal medicine; Nancy C. Andreasen, psychiatry; Willard Boyd, law and President Emeritus; Antonio Damasio, neurology; Hanna Damasio, neurology; Donald Gurnett, physics and astronomy; Linda Kerber, history; James McPherson, creative writing; James Van Allen, physics and astronomy; and Michael J. Welsh, internal medicine, physiology and biophysics.

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa News Services, 300 Plaza Centre One, Suite 371, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-2500.

MEDIA CONTACT: Mary Geraghty Kenyon, 319-384-0011,