The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release

April 13, 2005

UI Faculty Members, Alumni Honored At Pharmacy Meeting

Three University of Iowa faculty members and two alumni were honored at the annual American Pharmacists Association (APhA) meeting, held April 1-5 in Orlando, Fla.

Barry Carter, Pharm.D., professor of clinical and administrative pharmacy, and Elizabeth Chrischilles, Ph.D., professor of epidemiology in the UI College of Public Health, received the Wiederholdt Prize. Established in 1996 as the APhA Best Published Paper Award for Economic, Social and Administrative Sciences, the award was renamed in 2002 in honor of Joseph B. Wiederholt, Ph.D. The award recognizes the best paper published in the Journal of the American Pharmacists Association within the past two calendar years, describing original investigation in the areas of economic, social or administrative sciences.

Jay Currie, Pharm.D., associate professor (clinical) of clinical and administrative pharmacy, received the Community Pharmacy Residency Excellence in Precepting Award. Currie was selected for his efforts in developing and shaping the college's community pharmacy practice residency program since its inception in 1997, and for serving as the program's director. He played a pivotal role in helping the program achieve accreditation through the APhA, and he has served as a role model to the residents, ensuring that residents have opportunities for professional development and growth.

Robert Osterhaus, a 1952 graduate of the UI College of Pharmacy, received the Remington Honor Medal, the profession's highest honor, for more than 50 years of service. For more than 50 years, Osterhaus has been an instrumental and influential leader in the profession. He began his career at Kouba Pharmacy in Anamosa, Iowa, and in 1965 opened his own pharmacy in Maquoketa, Iowa. He also has worked to promote the value of the pharmacist's role in patient care at the local, state and national and international levels.

Ostershaus' son, Matthew, a 1980 graduate of the college, also was recognized at the APhA meeting. He received the Distinguished Achievement Award for Community and Ambulatory Practice from the APhA's Academy of Pharmacy Practice and Management. Matthew practices as a community and consultant pharmacist at Osterhaus Pharmacy in Maquoketa, which offers compounding services, health screening, long-term care consulting, hospice services and home medical equipment services. Matthew is president of the Iowa Pharmacy Association, and he is a board member of Outcomes Pharmaceutical Healthcare, a network of community pharmacies where pharmacists provided pharmaceutical care services and conduct community-based research. Like his father, Matthew has been involved in professional pharmacy organizations at the local, state and national levels, and he remains an active member of APhA.

University of Iowa Health Care describes the partnership between the UI Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine and UI Hospitals and Clinics and the patient care, medical education and research programs and services they provide. Visit UI Health Care online at

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa Health Science Relations, 5139 Westlawn, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1178

MEDIA CONTACT: David Pedersen, (319) 335-8032,