The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release

Sept. 28, 2004

UI Faculty, Staff To Be Honored At University Convocation Oct. 5

Awards for faculty and staff excellence in teaching, research and service will highlight the annual University Convocation at 7:30 p.m., Tuesday, Oct. 5, in Macbride Auditorium. The convocation will be followed by a reception in Iowa Hall, the UI Museum of Natural History.

UI President David Skorton will speak briefly and also will announce the recipient of the President's Award for Technology Innovation, which recognizes the most creative use of technology in teaching in the past year.

Katherine Tachau, president of UI Faculty Senate, will provide opening remarks. Cheryl Reardon, president of the UI Staff Council, will give the closing remarks.

Provost Michael Hogan will present the faculty awards, assisted by the deans of the colleges. Staff awards will be presented by Sue Buckley, associate vice president and director of human resources.

Award winners to be recognized for the first time at Convocation include those selected for Collegiate Teaching Awards, the Michael J. Brody Awards for Faculty Excellence in Service and the Philip G. Hubbard Award for Outstanding Education.

Named in honor of the late Michael J. Brody, president of Faculty Senate (1986-87), the Brody Award was established to recognize outstanding faculty who have made exceptional contributions to the university and the community. This year's honorees are Carolyn Colvin, professor of curriculum and instruction in the College of Education; Richard R. Hurtig, professor of speech pathology and audiology in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences; and Susan Schechter, clinical professor of social work in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences (awarded posthumously).

The Philip G. Hubbard Award for Outstanding Education is presented annually to a full professor with at least 15 years experience at the university in recognition of outstanding teaching and commitment to curriculum and program development. The recipient is Robert L. Mutel, professor of physics and astronomy in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. Integrated DNA Technologies and its president and CEO Joseph A. Walder present this award in honor of the late Dr. Philip G. Hubbard's lifetime commitment to making high quality educational programs available to all students.

Each college will present Collegiate Teaching Awards, one of the university's highest honors. Recipients must demonstrate extraordinary talent for teaching and a dedication to students, which extends beyond the classroom. The honorees are:

Tippie College of Business

  • Todd Houge, assistant professor of finance

College of Dentistry

  • Cynthia K. Christensen, associate professor of pediatric dentistry

College of Education

  • John S. Westefeld, professor of psychological and quantitative foundations

College of Engineering

  • Nicole Grosland, assistant professor of biomedical engineering and orthopaedic surgery

College of Law

  • Margaret Raymond, professor of law

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

  • Mary S. Adamek, clinical associate professor of music
  • Robert Bork, associate professor of art and art history
  • Eric Gidal, associate professor of English
  • Randy Hirokawa, professor of communication studies and community and behavioral health
  • Susan Murty, associate professor of social work
  • Peverill Squire, professor of political science

UI Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine

  • Frank Mitros, professor of pathology
  • Brian Mullan, associate professor of radiology
  • Marcy Rosenbaum, assistant professor of family medicine
  • Jeffrey Wilson, professor of internal medicine

College of Nursing

  • Jean King, assistant professor of nursing

College of Public Health

  • Elizabeth Chrischilles, professor of epidemiology
  • Robert Kerns, assistant professor of medicinal and natural products

Previously announced awards that will be presented at the convocation include those for outstanding staff, faculty and global scholars, Hancher-Finkbine Medallion, James N. Murray Award, M.L. Huit Award, President and Provost Award for Teaching Excellence, and Regents Awards for Faculty Excellence and Staff Excellence.

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa News Services, 300 Plaza Centre One, Suite 371, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-2500.

MEDIA CONTACT: Mary Geraghty Kenyon, 319-384-0011,