The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release

Oct. 20, 2004

NOTE TO EDITORS: Michael Fiore will be available to speak with reporters from 11:30 to 11:45 a.m. Tuesday, Nov. 16, in the North Room of the Iowa Memorial Union. Fiore's formal remarks begin at 12:30 p.m. in the Main Lounge of the IMU. Reporters are invited to attend the lecture.

Tobacco Cessation Expert Selected As 2004 Hansen Award Recipient

The University of Iowa College of Public Health has named Michael C. Fiore, M.D., a nationally recognized leader in treating tobacco dependence, the recipient of the 2004 Richard and Barbara Hansen Leadership Award and Distinguished Lectureship.

Fiore is a professor of medicine and director and founder of the Center for Tobacco Research and Intervention at the University of Wisconsin. His primary research and policy focus has been to develop strategies to prompt clinicians and health care systems to intervene with patients who use tobacco.

"Smoking is the leading preventable cause of death and disease, killing an estimated 440,000 Americans a year," said James Merchant, dean of the College of Public Health. "Dr. Fiore's work is an invaluable component of the growing body of tobacco cessation research. We are extremely pleased to honor Dr. Fiore with the Hansen Award and look forward to his visit in November."

During his Nov.15-16 visit to the UI campus, Fiore will discuss smoking cessation and other challenges and opportunities for public health education and research with students, faculty, and local and state leaders.

On Nov. 16, Fiore will deliver the Hansen Distinguished Lecture, titled, "Innovations in Tobacco Control Policy - We Can Move the Mountain," at 12:30 p.m. in the Main Lounge of the Iowa Memorial Union. The presentation is free and open to the public.

Fiore spearheaded an innovative initiative to prompt the medical community to expand the vital signs (temperature, pulse, respiratory rate and blood pressure) to include tobacco-use status. Research has shown that this simple, no-cost institutional change more than doubled the rate of smoker identification and the rate at which clinicians counseled smokers to quit.

In 2000, Fiore chaired the panel that produced the U.S. Public Health Service Clinical Practice Guideline, "Treating Tobacco Use and Dependence," which is recognized as the standard of care for treating tobacco dependence. He also chaired the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Subcommittee on Tobacco Cessation of the Interagency Committee on Smoking and Health, which produced a comprehensive plan for promoting tobacco cessation in the United States.

In 2003, Fiore was selected as one of five national recipients of the Innovators in Combating Substance Abuse Award from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF), and currently serves as co-director of the RWJF national program office called Addressing Tobacco in Managed Care.

The Hansen Award is a $10,000 prize given annually by the UI College of Public Health to honor individuals who have made sustained contributions in the health field. The award recognizes exemplary leadership, high ethical standards and an enduring commitment to improving health care on a national and international level. The award is made possible by a gift from Richard and Barbara Hansen of Iowa City. The Hansen's gift, made in 2000, was the first contribution in the College of Public Health's Founding Partner program.

For more information about the Hansen Award, visit

STORY SOURCE: The University of Iowa College of Public Health, Office of Communications, 4257 Westlawn, Iowa City, Iowa 52242.

MEDIA CONTACT: Debra Venzke, 319-335-9647,

PHOTO: A photo of Michael Fiore is available at