The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release

Oct. 8, 2004

UI Medical Students Inducted Into Honor Society

The University of Iowa Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine inducted 22 students into Alpha Omega Alpha (AOA), the national medical honor society, at a fall initiation ceremony Sept. 28 in Iowa City.

The inductees are Matthew Anderson, Christian Baum, Brooke Beckett, Lisa Berglund, Ryan Dempewolf, Anna Duke, Bruce Dumser, Arnold Etame, Matthew Glathar, Colby Hansen, James Heun, Martin Hove, Ali Jabbari, Colleen Lamb, Timothy Lindley, Nathan Lueck, Natalie Melrose, George Oji, Carrie Schinstock, Sarah Stewart, Joshua Wilson and Matthew Zieske.

Founded in 1902, AOA promotes scholarship and research in medical schools and encourages a high standard of character and conduct among medical students and medical school graduates. In recognition of high attainment and excellence in medical science, practice and related fields, the society elects outstanding medical students, alumni and faculty members to its ranks.

AOA has 105 chapters at medical schools throughout the United States and Canada. The UI chapter, Alpha of Iowa, was established in 1920.

University of Iowa Health Care describes the partnership between the UI Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine and UI Hospitals and Clinics and the patient care, medical education and research programs and services they provide. Visit UI Health Care online at

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa Health Science Relations, 5135 Westlawn, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1178

MEDIA CONTACT: David Pedersen, (319) 335-8032,