The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release

May 18, 2004

UI College Of Public Health Honors Achievements At Awards Dinner

Students, faculty and staff were honored at the annual University of Iowa College of Public Health Graduation and Honors Dinner and Milford E. Barnes Awards Ceremony held May 14.

Six students received Milford E. Barnes Awards for outstanding work in their areas of study. The recipients were Susan L. Brockus, D.V.M., Master of Public Health degree program; Wan-Yueh (Julie) Lo, Department of Occupational and Environmental Health; Keri L. N. Mercer, Department of Community and Behavioral Health; Deli Wang, M.Med., Ph.D., Department of Biostatistics; Shinobu Watanabe-Galloway, Ph.D., Department of Epidemiology; and Carly M. Woythaler-Runestad, Department of Health Management and Policy. The awards are named for Milford E. Barnes, M.D., who served as professor and head of the Department of Hygiene and Preventive Medicine from 1930-1952.

Eric N. Mooss received the Dean's Achievement Award as well as the John W. Colloton Outstanding Student Award. Molly M. Hartman was awarded the Frank N. Whitson Award for Academic Achievement. The latter two awards are given to students in the Department of Health Management and Policy.

The College of Public Health Faculty Teaching Award went to Elizabeth A. Chrischilles, Ph.D., professor of epidemiology. Jeffrey D. Dawson, Sc.D., associate professor of biostatistics, received the Faculty Service Award, and Robert B. Wallace, M.D., professor of epidemiology, received the Faculty Research Award.

The Staff Research Award was given to Nyla Logsden-Sackett, senior research assistant, Department of Epidemiology. The Staff Service Award was presented to Tim Shie, College of Public Health director of information technologies.

Anne Baber Wallis, Ph.D., and Michelle (Shelly) Campo, Ph.D., both assistant professors of community and behavioral health, were honored for receiving 2003-2004 College of Public Health-College of Medicine New Investigator Research Awards. The College of Public Health Outstanding Alumni Awards were presented to Gregory L. Burke, M.D.; George B. Caldwell; Allen M. Hicks; Todd C. Linden; Charles F. Lynch, M.D., Ph.D.; and Ronald K. Ross, M.D.

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa College of Public Health Office of Communications, 4257 Westlawn, Iowa City, Iowa 52242.

CONTACT(S): Media: Debra Venzke, 319-335-9647,