The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release

May 13, 2004

Local Student Inducted Into Education Honor Society

(NAME OF PERSON) of (HOMETOWN) was recently initiated into the Theta Chapter of the Pi Lambda Theta International Honor Society and Professional Association at the University of Iowa.

He/She was one of 50 UI students accepted into the education honorary organization during a special ceremony May 1 in Iowa City.

Members of the organization, which was founded in 1910, include teachers, administrators and others involved in some aspect of education, including undergraduate and graduate students pursuing degrees in education. Students must have a 3.5 grade point average to be considered for membership.

In addition to providing people within the education field an opportunity to network, Pi Lambda Theta provides members access to a career services web site, publishes a journal called Educational Horizons and conducts meetings three times a year, each with an educational focus. The society also presents scholarships to students pursuing undergraduate and graduate degrees.

EDITORS: Initiates are listed alphabetically by hometown, with Iowa students listed first. In some instances, students' names may appear under two hometowns to reflect their temporary and permanent residences.


Ankeny: Leah D. Goodmanson

Bradford: Ann McMillen

Buffalo Center: Brooke Aukes

Burlington: Sara Hammer

Burlington: Kelly Dick

Camanche: Aubrey Steines

Cedar Falls: Julie Ruff

Cedar Rapids: Kayla Haptonstall

Coralville: Natalie Golliday

Coralville: Ann McMillen

DeWitt: Amanda Sievers

Des Moines: Juli Smith (1513 Cummins Parkway)

Eldridge: Judith Shannon

Fort Dodge: Kristen Enke

Iowa City: Megan Ansley

Iowa City: Kelly Dick

Iowa City: Amy Lowe

Iowa City: Jamie C. Shelley

Lamoni: Linda Armstrong

Mt. Pleasant: Monie Hayes

North Liberty: Angie Chipman

Solon: Shauna Steinbrech

Washington: Megan Jones-Schiebel

West Des Moines: Shana L. Bischof (515 Grand Oaks Dr.)

West Liberty: Tami Morrison

Williamsburg: Angie Chipman

Williamsburg: Jennifer Jones

Winterset: Kendra Eyerly


Elgin: Cristina Cabrera

Highland Park: Robert M. LaCrosse

Moline: Sara Whitaker

Monee: HollyAnn Lopez

Palatine: Jamie C. Shelley

Savoy: Laura David


Spicer: Eric Gjerde

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa News Services, 300 Plaza Centre One, Suite 371, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-2500.

MEDIA CONTACT: Media: Stephen Pradarelli, 319-384-0007,