The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release

March 16, 2004

Local Student Elected To University Of Iowa Student Government

(Name of student), a University of Iowa student from (hometown), was recently elected to serve on the UI Student Senate for the 2004-05 academic year.

The Senate is one part of the UI Student Government's student assembly that decides on funding for student groups. It consists of three parts: the Graduate and Professional Student Senate, the Undergraduate Activities Senate, and the Undergraduate Collegiate Senate.

Lindsay Schutte of Keokuk was elected UISG president. Jason Shore of Wilmette, Ill. was elected vice president.

Elections were held March 1 on the UI campus.

NOTE TO EDITORS: Receipt of this press release indicates that one or more of the students elected to the UI Student Government is from a hometown in your coverage area. Students are listed by state and city, with Iowa students listed first.

Ames: Andrew Goedeken, Emily Nau

Ankeny: Trevor Savage

Bettendorf: James Ehrmann

Cedar Rapids: Ryan Thompto, Stephanie Iverson, Jessica Swanner

Clear Lake: Barry Pump

Davenport: Maggie Moore, Kevin Foley

Des Moines: Austin Baeth

Dubuque: Kevin Hansen

Dyersville: Adam Large

Grinnell: John Heineman

Nevada: Tom Niblock

Perry: Casey Finn

Solon: Mike Basten

Spencer: Brant Rustwick

Urbandale: Nicholas S. Smith

Bloomington: Jonathon Weber

Chesterfield: Tyler Mackie

Kansas City: Susan Kemper

Arlington: Morgan Hanks

Madison: Chris Kent

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa News Service, 300 Plaza Centre One, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-2500.

MEDIA CONTACT: Tom Snee, 319-384-0010,