The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release

March 16, 2004

UI College Of Public Health Announces New Board Members

The University of Iowa College of Public Health recently welcomed three new members to its board of advisors. Incoming members include Mary Rose Corrigan, public health specialist with the Health Services Department in Dubuque; Mary Pittman, president of Health Research and Educational Trust in Chicago, Ill.; and Frances Sadden, director of Siouxland District Health Department in Sioux City. They will serve a two- or three-year term.

The College of Public Health's board of advisors serves as an interface between the college and the rapidly changing public health landscape. Board members are leaders in business and labor, government, health care and volunteer associations. Through their diverse experiences, they provide vision and guidance to the college and help to shape its policies, priorities and programs.

New board members replace the following members who have completed their terms: H. Keith Erickson, director of Linn County Public Health in Cedar Rapids; Richard M. Knapp, executive vice president of the Association of American Medical Colleges in Washington, D.C.; Maureen Sedlacek, director of nursing at Van Buren County Hospitals and Clinics in Keosoauqua, Iowa; and George W. Williams, vice president of biostatistics and health economics at Amgen in Thousand Oaks, Calif.

STORY SOURCE: The University of Iowa College of Public Health Office of Communications, 4257 Westlawn, Iowa City, Iowa 52242.

MEDIA CONTACT: Kate Gleeson, 319-384-4277,