The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release

June 10, 2004

UI Engineering Inducts Three Into Distinguished Alumni Academy

The University of Iowa College of Engineering will induct three new members into its Distinguished Engineering Alumni Academy this spring for contributions toward personal engineering achievement, leadership and service to the profession and society.

The distinguished engineers, who will be inducted into the academy during the College's spring alumni reunion dinner from 6-9 p.m. Saturday, June 12, at the UI Karro Athletics Hall of Fame are:

--Mahesh Chaturvedi, pioneer in Indian water resources engineering and founding member and Fellow of the International Water Resources Association.
--Turgut Sarpkaya, Distinguished Professor at the U.S. Naval Postgraduate School, Monterey, Calif., internationally recognized authority in fluid mechanics research and named by Cambridge University as one of the world's One Thousand Greatest Scientists.
--Qidong Wang, retired vice president of academic affairs of Zhejiang University, Hangzhou, People's Republic of China, former vice chairman of the standing committee of the Zhejiang Provincial Congress, and retired member of the standing committee of the National Congress of the Peoples' Republic of China.

Chaturvedi, who earned his master of science degree in 1960 and doctorate in 1962, both in mechanics and hydraulics from the UI, is a globally recognized pioneer of water resources engineering in India. He has led collaborative projects in the United States, Sweden, the former Soviet Union, Italy and the United Kingdom. He is a Fellow of the Indian Academy of Engineering, and founder of the Department of Civil Engineering at the Indian Institutes of Technology in Kanpur and Delhi. He has educated a generation of Indian scholars in water resources planning, economic and environmental policy in developing countries, and systems engineering.

In 1946, he joined the Uttar Pradesh government and helped design several major multipurpose water resources projects. In 1967, he was appointed professor and Founder Head, and later dean of research in the Department of Applied Mechanics at the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT). As a member of the Board of Consultants, he continued to work concurrently on the planning and design of several major projects, including Tehri Dam, one of the world's highest dams. He also worked on systems planning of several river basins such as Indus Basin, and Ganges-Brahmputra-Meghana basin. Upon his retirement from IIT-Delhi in 1985, he joined the Planning Commission, Government of India until leaving for the United States to join the University of Texas-Austin in 1989.

Chaturvedi, who has published four books, currently is working in the field of sustainability science as an independent scholar, guiding research at IIT-Delhi and writing three books on the subject. He also continues to work on government commissions and is developing a group under the aegis of the Indian National Academy of Engineering to study the scientific development of the waters of India. He also is developing a group under the Ministry of Environment, Government of India, to study sustainable development in India. Chaturvedi and his wife have established the Vipula and Mahesh Chaturvedi Foundation, providing support for projects that advance science and the human condition.

Sarpkaya, who earned his doctorate in mechanics and hydraulics in 1954 from the UI, received the Turning Goals into Reality Award presented by NASA and was selected as a Freeman Scholar by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. Following postdoctoral work at Iowa and MIT and service in the U.S. Army, he joined the University of Nebraska in l957, where he was named Thomas L. Fawick Distinguished Professor in l964. In l966 he joined the University of Manchester in England. In 1967, he accepted a post as professor and chairman of mechanical engineering at the Naval Postgraduate School, where he was named Distinguished Professor in l975.

His classified and unclassified research over the past 50 years has covered the spectrum of hydrodynamics, and he has published more than 200 papers and a book, and directed 26 doctoral students. He has lectured widely and served the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA) and the CIA on numerous classified projects dealing with the hydrodynamics and hydroacoustics of submarines of all classes.

Dr. Sarpkaya has served as associate editor of numerous journals; member, and later chairman, of the Executive Committee of the Fluids Engineering Division of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME); chairman of the Heat Transfer and Fluid Mechanics Institute; and member of various government review panels. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Naval Architects and Marine Engineers, Fellow of ASME, and Associate Fellow of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics and holds a patent on one of his devices.

Wang, who earned his doctorate in mechanical engineering in 1951 from the UI, is retired vice president of academic affairs of Zhejiang University, Hangzhou, People's Republic of China, former vice chairman of the Standing Committee of the Zhejiang Provincial Congress, and retired member of the Standing Committee of the National Congress of the Peoples' Republic of China. He is Honorary Chairman of the Academic Council of Zhejiang Institute of Science and Technology, Honorary President of Taizhou Radio and Television University, and Honorary President of Zhejiang Association of Science and Technology.

He returned to China as an associate professor of mechanical engineering at Zhejiang University in 1951. With colleagues, he created a foundry technology specialization, translating Russian textbooks into Chinese and publishing a complete set of textbooks that enabled college students to master foundry technology. In 1978, he became vice president of Zhejiang University, as well as dean of the newly established Graduate College and head of the Department of Materials Science and Engineering. He organized a research group on hydrogen storage alloy, which published more than 250 papers, received seven patents, and earned six national and provincial awards. As a result, he was elected a member of the International Steering Committee of the International Symposium on Metal Hydrogen Systems.

As president of the Zhejiang Association of Science and Technology, he raised funds to build the Zhejiang Museum of Science and Technology and send technical consultants to help farmers cultivate new crops. In 1990, he was elected a member of the National Congress of the People's Republic of China. Through careful study of Western countries, he introduced legislation -- which became law - concerning: the privilege of individuals to run primary schools, middle schools, colleges and universities; the right of individuals to establish and run private scientific research institutions; the right of individuals to work for other factories in their leisure time; and the protection of the environment and conservation of natural resources.

The 2004 induction ceremonies bring the Academy's membership to 52. Among them are 10 members of the National Academy of Engineering, a member of the National Academy of Sciences, senior executives who have served many national and global corporations, two chiefs of engineer of the Army Corps of Engineers, a minister of foreign affairs for Ireland, two ministers of education and one minister of water resources for Taiwan, and the president of Hakkaido Institute of Technology in Japan.

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa News Services, 300 Plaza Centre One, Suite 371, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-2500.

CONTACTS: Gary Galluzzo, 319-384-0009,