The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release

June 3, 2004

Five UI Professors Win Regents Awards For Faculty Excellence

Five University of Iowa faculty members have won the 2004 Regents Award for Faculty Excellence. Given by the Board of Regents, State of Iowa, the award honors faculty members for work representing a significant contribution to excellence in public education.

This year's recipients from the UI are:

Krishnan B. Chandran, Lowell G. Battershell Chair of Biomedical Engineering, Lowell G. Battershell Professor of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering, and faculty research engineer at IIHR-Hydroscience & Engineering: Chandran has an international reputation in cardiovascular biomechanics research. Currently, he is developing simulations of prosthetic heart valve dynamics to improve the performance of the implants. He also is studying relations between blood flow dynamics and atherosclerosis in the human arterial circulation, funded by grants from the National Institutes of Health. Chandran joined the UI faculty in 1978 as associate professor in the newly established Biomedical Engineering program. He was promoted to professor in 1984 and became department chair in 1998. He was awarded the Borelli Award from the American Society of Biomechanics for excellence in research in 1988. He was elected a Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers in 1989, a Senior Member of the Biomedical Engineering Society in 1992, and a Fellow of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering in 1995. In 1999, he received the Theo Pilkington Outstanding Educator Award from the Biomedical Engineering Division of the American Society for Engineering Education.

Raul Curto, executive associate dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences and professor of mathematics: Curto, who joined the UI faculty in 1981, is an internationally known scholar of the interface between the fields of several complex variables and operator theory, a highly interdisciplinary area of mathematics. He has published more than 75 refereed papers and has had continuous grant support from the National Science Foundation since 1980. He is frequently invited as a distinguished lecturer at conferences and symposia in the U.S. and abroad, and serves as associate editor of the "Journal of Mathematical Analysis and Applications." An outstanding student mentor and classroom teacher, he has taught courses at all levels, ranging in size from business calculus lectures with 800 students to advanced graduate seminars. As an administrator, Curto is committed to mentoring and supporting junior faculty and creating opportunities for them to excel as teacher-scholars. He is a campus leader in attracting and retaining a diverse faculty, staff, and student body.

Mary Patricia Donahue, executive associate dean of the College of Nursing and professor of nursing: Donahue, who joined the nursing faculty in 1976, is an internationally-recognized expert in the history of nursing and ethical issues related to genetic testing. During 28 years on the faculty, she has served on 18 university committees and taught courses in advanced medical-surgical nursing, leadership and management, oncology nursing, loss and death, social foundations of nursing, professional issues, and nursing history and philosophy. Donahue's book, "Nursing, The Finest Art," has won six awards in its second edition, published in 1996. In addition, she has authored 22 book chapters, 12 peer-reviewed articles, and written and been a guest editor in six journals. Her awards and honors include Fellowship in the America Academy of Nursing, Sigma Xi, the Agnes Dillon Randolph Award from the University of Virginia and the Faculty Hancher-Finkbine Medallion at UI. Donahue played a pivotal role in creating the new professional Masters in Nursing and Healthcare Practice program, a nursing curriculum for applicants who already have at least a bachelor's degree in another field.

George El-Khoury, professor of radiology and orthopedics: A faculty member in the Carver College of Medicine since 1975, El-Khoury has served as the director of the Musculoskeletal/Orthopedic Radiology Division, building its reputation to its current ranking within the top three musculoskeletal radiology training programs in the country. He has published two books on musculoskeletal imaging, more than 160 scientific manuscripts, 79 chapters in radiology textbooks, and has given more than 300 scientific lectures locally, nationally, and internationally. He is internationally renowned for his research on the applications of magnetic resonance imaging to musculoskeletal disorders. He has served in many key positions for the university, the Carver College of Medicine, UI Hospitals and Clinics, and the department of radiology. El-Khoury is a gifted educator who teaches medical students, radiology residents and fellows, orthopedic surgery residents and fellows, family medicine residents, rheumatology fellows and practicing primary care physicians throughout Iowa. He has received several "Teacher of the Year" awards from medical students and radiology residents, and in 2003 he was awarded the "Kenneth Krabbenhoft Award for Excellence in Teaching in Radiology."

Peverill Squire, professor of political science: Squire joined the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences faculty in 1985 and is an internationally recognized scholar in American politics and legislative studies. He has published 50 peer-reviewed articles and book chapters, as well as five books. As a Fulbright Distinguished Lecturer in 1999-2000, he was the John Marshall Chair in Political Science at the Budapest University of Economic Sciences. He has served on the editorial boards of six major journals and is currently the co-editor of Legislative Studies Quarterly. He also is currently Senior Consulting Editor for the politics section of the "Encyclopedia of the Midwest." One of this year's recipients of the Collegiate Teaching Award, he is an outstanding mentor and classroom teacher and has supervised 14 doctoral dissertations. He served as chair of the political science department from 1992 to 1995 and chair of the college's Faculty Assembly in 2003-04. In the months leading up to the 2004 Iowa caucuses, Squire provided history, context and analysis for hundreds of local, state and national media outlets. He was named a 2004 Collegiate Fellow in the UI College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa News Services, 300 Plaza Centre One, Suite 371, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-2500.

MEDIA CONTACT: Mary Geraghty Kenyon, 319-384-0011,