The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release

July 13, 2004

Skorton Names Search Committee For Vice President For Research

University of Iowa President David Skorton today (July 13) announced that Gregory Carmichael, (left) professor and associate dean for graduate programs and research in the College of Engineering, will chair a 20-member search committee for a new UI vice president for research.

"Greg Carmichael has a long and distinguished record of research, teaching and service at the University of Iowa, and I am grateful that he will lead a search of such critical importance to the university's ability to create new knowledge," Skorton said. "The vice president for research is responsible for overseeing an enterprise that annually attracts more than one-third of a billion dollars in external grants and contracts to the state of Iowa, ranking the University of Iowa among the nation's top public research universities."

The new vice president for research will succeed associate vice president for research Bill Decker, who has served on an interim basis since Skorton assumed the UI presidency March 1, 2003.

The search committee will develop a list of qualifications for the position, seek applications and nominations, review applicants, arrange for finalists to come to campus for interviews, provide evaluations of the finalists, and submit up to five names to Skorton, who will make the final decision, subject to approval by the Board of Regents, State of Iowa. Details of the committee's activities, including the position announcement, and additional information, can be found at the vice president for research search web site at

In addition to Carmichael, members of the vice president for research search committee are as follows:

--Gail Bishop, College of Medicine Distinguished Professor of Microbiology and Internal Medicine, and director, Immunology Graduate Program.
--Margaret Brinig, professor of law.
--William Clarke, professor of biostatistics.
--Ben Darbro, graduate student.
--Michael Duffel, associate dean for research and graduate studies, College of Pharmacy.
--Vicki Grassian, professor of chemistry.
--Holly Hauschild, graduate student.
--Beth Ingram, professor of economics.
--John Keller, dean of the Graduate College.
--Steven Levy, professor of preventive and community dentistry.
--Deborah Lin-dyken, associate professor of pediatrics.
--Usha Mallik, professor of physics and astronomy.
--Sara Nichols, assistant research scientist, nursing.
--Janet Rapp, administrative associate in biological sciences.
--Toni Reimer, associate dean for research and graduate studies, College of Nursing.
--Jarjisu Sa-Aadu, Chester A. Phillips Professor of Business Finance and Real Estate.
--Gary Sasso, professor and chair, curriculum and instruction.
--Leslie Schwalm, associate professor of history.
--Edwin Stone, professor of ophthalmology and visual sciences.

STORY SOURCE: University Relations, 101 Jessup Hall, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1000.

MEDIA CONTACT: Steve Parrott,, phone 319-335-0552, cell 530-6972