The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release

Jan. 7, 2004

Local Student Initiated Into ODK Leadership Fraternity At UI

(NAME OF STUDENT) of (HOMETOWN) was recently inducted as a member of the University of Iowa's Beta Iota Circle of Omicron Delta Kappa (ODK), the National Leadership Honor Society.

(NAME OF STUDENT) is majoring in (MAJOR) at the university.

The initiation ceremony was Dec. 7.

Omicron Delta Kappa was founded Dec. 3, 1914, at Washington and Lee University in Lexington, VA, by 15 student and faculty leaders. The founders formulated the idea that leadership of exceptional quality and versatility in college should be recognized, that representatives in all phases of college life should cooperate in worthwhile endeavors, and that outstanding students, faculty, and administrators should meet on a basis of mutual interest, understanding, and helpfulness. ODK was the first college honor society of a national scope to give recognition and honor for meritorious leadership and service in extracurricular activities and to encourage development of general campus citizenship. These ideals still exist today as the Society has expanded from its initial circle to more than 275 collegiate circles in 37 states.

The Beta Iota Circle at The University of Iowa was founded on May 10, 1947, as a successor to the Senior Men's Society, "All for Iowa," or better known as simply AFI. Many of the traditions started by AFI in the first half of this century are still carried on by the active members of the circle. Some of the circle's current activities include selecting the UI "Dad of the Year," hosting the Omicron Delta Kappa regional conference, volunteering at Oaknoll Retirement Residence and preparing meals for families staying at the Ronald McDonald House.

NOTE TO EDITORS: Receipt of this press release indicates that a student or students in your newspaper's circulation area was inducted into ODK. The students are listed below, by their hometowns, along with their academic majors. Iowa towns and cities are listed first.

Ames: Lindsay Ellen Peterson, Art History; Jonathon M. Sargent, Finance
Burlington: Andrew Thomas Boyd, International Studies/ Pre-medicine
Davenport: James Jay Coble, Management/Marketing; Joelle Khairallah, Science Education
Runnels: Amanda Marie Johnston, Psychology
Ruthven: Molly Francis Pettit, Studio Art/English
Waterloo: Michelle Amber Ganske, Health Promotion

White Bear Lake: Bridget Erin Hanna, Exercise Science

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa News Service, 300 Plaza Centre One, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-2500.

CONTACT(S): Tom Snee, 319-384-0010,