The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release

Feb. 25, 2004

Maxson Names Liberal Arts And Sciences Collegiate Fellows

Four University of Iowa professors have been named Collegiate Fellows in the UI College of Liberal Arts and Sciences in recognition of their years of distinguished teaching, research, and service to the college. The 2004 Collegiate Fellows are Lee Anna Clark, associate provost for faculty and professor of psychology; James Gloer, professor of chemistry; Peverill Squire, professor of political science; and Shelton Stromquist, professor of history.

Linda Maxson, dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, said the distinction is a way for the college to honor outstanding faculty members at the rank of full professor who have consistently demonstrated their dedication to the three-pronged mission of the college.

"This award was created to recognize senior faculty whose distinction in teaching and scholarship is matched by exceptional leadership in service to the University, the college and their departments," Maxson said. "All four of these faculty members have for years given of their time, talents, and energy for the benefit of the college and the university as a whole, and I am pleased to be able to honor their accomplishments and contributions."

Collegiate Fellows receive an increase in pay as well as a discretionary fund in each of the first two years of a five-year, renewable term. Fellows are also invited to meet with Maxson and the college's associate deans annually to discuss opportunities for improving faculty life and undergraduate education.

Clark is among the most highly cited researchers in the field of psychology. Her research, which has been funded continually since 1985, encompasses both theoretical and empirical issues related to the diagnosis and assessment of personality disorders. Her publications include 80 peer-reviewed articles and book chapters and a unique clinical diagnostic instrument, the Schedule for Nonadaptive and Adaptive Personality, which measures characteristics of both normal personality and personality disorders in relation to each other. She served as director of clinical training in the psychology department until her appointment as associate provost for faculty in 1998. Since then, she has continued to work with graduate students, mentoring the most clinical psychology students to the Ph.D. degree in the department in the last seven years and, by popular demand, continued to offer a "Transition to Graduate School" seminar for first-year graduate students.

Gloer's pioneering research on the isolation and structural characterization of fungal metabolites has provided a new approach to the study of fungi from competitive ecosystems as sources of novel bioactive natural products. His work has resulted in more than 90 journal articles and 10 patents. He is a past president of the American Society of Pharmacognosy and winner of an NSF Creativity Award, a Sloan Foundation Fellowship and a Research Career Development Award from NIH. Sponsors of his research include the National Institutes of Health and National Science Foundation, as well as industry. A recipient of the Burlington Northern Foundation Faculty Achievement Award, he has supervised 18 doctoral dissertations and mentored more than 20 undergraduates in his laboratories. He was a leader in establishing the UI Mass Spectrometry Facility and has served on numerous college and university committees, including the executive committee for the Center for Biocatalysis and Bioprocessing.

Squire is an internationally recognized scholar in American politics and legislative studies. He has published 50 peer-reviewed articles and book chapters, as well as five books. As a Fulbright Distinguished Lecturer in 1999-2000, he was the John Marshall Chair in Political Science at the Budapest University of Economic Sciences. He has served on the editorial boards of six major journals and is currently the co-editor of Legislative Studies Quarterly. One of this year's recipients of the Collegiate Teaching Award, he is an outstanding mentor and classroom teacher and has supervised 14 doctoral dissertations. He served as chair of the political science department from 1992 to 1995 and is the current chair of the college's Faculty Assembly. In the months leading up to the 2004 Iowa caucuses, Squire provided history, context and analysis for hundreds of local, state and national media outlets.

Stromquist is an internationally respected labor historian whose work illuminates the connections between social, economic and political history by examining local history in national and transnational contexts. He is the author of two books and editor of three essay collections, and he has given invited lectures in the U.S., Europe and Australia. He was named a UI Global Scholar in 2002. He has directed 16 doctoral dissertations, with nine more in progress, and is also an active mentor of undergraduate honors students. He was chair of the history department from 1996 to 2000 and has served on numerous college and university committees, including the Faculty Council, Faculty Senate and the CLAS Executive Committee.

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa News Services, 300 Plaza Centre One, Suite 371, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-2500.

CONTACT(S): Media: Mary Geraghty Kenyon, 319-384-0011,; Writer: Cheryl Walsh