The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release

Dec. 6, 2004

IHSPA Honors Iowa Newspaper Association, Iowa Newspaper Foundation

The Iowa Newspaper Association and the Iowa Newspaper Foundation were presented the Iowa High School Press Association's Stratton Award in recognition of the organizations' significant contributions in support of scholastic journalism. The award was presented at the IHSPA Fall State and Regional Conferences, held respectively at the University of Iowa, Oct. 6, and Drake University, Des Moines, Oct. 18.

This coveted award honors the tremendous contributions of Arvid Huisman, executive director of the INF, the INF and INA members in support of high school journalists and their teachers across the state of Iowa. The IHSPA board was particularly impressed by the work the organizations and their members have done to assist journalism teachers in need of guidance and support as they work with high school newspaper staffs, and with newspapers that print on the pages of the local newspaper.

"The INA and INF have a long history of working with IHSPA and its members," said IHSPA Executive Director Vanessa Shelton of the UI College of Liberal Arts and Sciences School of Journalism and Mass Communication. "This type of collaboration creates a win-win situation for all involved."

IHSPA President Gary Lindsay said, "Members of the INA have worked quietly behind the scenes for decades to help high school journalists. INA members have voluntarily judged the IHSPA Spring Newspaper Contest each year, and they often consult with IHSPA in an effort to help high school newspapers thrive."

Most daily and weekly newspapers in the state are members of INA. INF acts on behalf of INA to champion and improve the quality and future of Iowa's newspaper enterprises and the communities they serve.

INA and INF have partnered with IHSPA to provide paid internships for high school journalism teachers to spend a few weeks in the summer working at their local newspaper, and scholarships for high school newspaper staff members to attend the UI Summer Journalism Workshops. INF also offers several scholarships each year to Iowa students to prepare for newspaper careers in college.

The IHSPA annually presents the Stratton Award, named in honor of Kenneth Stratton, a long-time journalism educator, publications adviser and textbook author of Des Moines, to recognize exemplary efforts by media organizations and/or educators in support of scholastic journalism.

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa News Services, 300 Plaza Centre One, Suite 371, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-2500.

MEDIA CONTACT: Vanessa Shelton, 319-353-3318,