The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release

Aug. 18, 2004

UI College Of Engineering Names Deere Scholarship Winners

(Student name) of (hometown), a (year in school) in the University of Iowa College of Engineering, has been named the winner of a (dollar amount) John Deere Scholarship for 2004-2005 academic year.

John Deere Scholarships are provided to the College of Engineering by the John Deere Foundation, Moline, Ill. Deere & Co., a long-time corporate partner of the college, is the world's leading manufacturer of agricultural and forestry equipment; a major manufacturer of construction equipment; and a leading supplier of equipment used in lawn, grounds and turf care. Additionally, John Deere manufactures engines used in heavy equipment and provides financial services and other related activities that support the core businesses.

The awards are given on the basis of merit.

One of 11 colleges on the University of Iowa campus, the College of Engineering has educational courses that date back more than a century. It teaches disciplines in biomedical, chemical and biochemical, civil and environmental, electrical and computer, industrial, and mechanical engineering. The college is recognized for its small, personalized size, and focused mission. Its location on a strong liberal arts campus -- with natural strengths in writing and communications, health sciences, business, law, and arts and humanities -- provides highly complementary resources to build the type of broad technological education demanded in a rapidly changing world. The college excels internationally in several specialty and interdisciplinary research areas, such as computer-aided design and simulation, human factors, environmental health solutions, biotechnology, medical imaging, hydraulics and water/air resources, and polymerization.


EDITOR: Scholarship winners are listed alphabetically by hometown, with Iowa recipients listed first and those from other states and countries following.


DUBUQUE: Aaron Klauer, Dubuque, Freshman, $1,000

IOWA CITY: James Wagner, Iowa City, Junior, $1,000

IOWA CITY: Nicole Heacock, Iowa City, Sophomore, $1,000

JOHNSTON: Amanda Freese, Johnston, Sophomore, $1,000

SIOUX CITY: Andrew Lambert, Sioux City, Sophomore, $1,000


DOWNERS GOVE: Patrick Melehan, Downers Grove, Junior, $1,000

ROSELLE: Ryan Dux, Roselle, Junior, $1,000

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa News Services, 300 Plaza Centre One, Suite 371, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-2500.

CONTACTS: Gary Galluzzo, 319-384-0009,