The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release

Release: Aug. 16, 2004

UI College Of Engineering Names Alcoa Scholarship Winners

(Student name) of (hometown), a (year in school) in the University of Iowa College of Engineering, has been named the winner of a (dollar amount) Alcoa Scholarship for 2004-2005 academic year.

Alcoa Scholarships are provided to the College of Engineering by the Alcoa Foundation, Pittsburgh. Alcoa Inc. is a long-time corporate partner of the College of Engineering, with manufacturing facilities in Riverdale, Iowa, part of the Quad Cities. Alcoa is the world's leading producer and manager of primary aluminum, fabricated aluminum and alumina facilities, and is active in all major aspects of the industry.

The awards are given on the basis of merit.

One of 11 colleges on the University of Iowa campus, the College of Engineering has educational courses that date back more than a century. It teaches disciplines in biomedical, chemical and biochemical, civil and environmental, electrical and computer, industrial, and mechanical engineering. The college is recognized for its small, personalized size, and focused mission. Its location on a strong liberal arts campus -- with natural strengths in writing and communications, health sciences, business, law, and arts and humanities -- provides highly complementary resources to build the type of broad technological education demanded in a rapidly changing world. The college excels internationally in several specialty and interdisciplinary research areas, such as computer-aided design and simulation, human factors, environmental health solutions, biotechnology, medical imaging, hydraulics and water/air resources, and polymerization.


EDITOR: Scholarship winners are listed alphabetically by hometown, with Iowa recipients listed first and those from other states and countries following.


Bettendorf: Tara Olds, Bettendorf, Sophomore, $1,000

Clive: Lindsay Gilbert, Clive, Freshman, $1,000

Corallville: Carrie Wilson, Senior, $1,000

Des Moines: Ana Arriaga, Des Moines, Freshman, $1,000

Dubuque: Nicole Heacock, Dubuque, Sophomore, $1,000

Iowa City: Terri Hansen, Iowa City, Senior, $1,000

Iowa City: Matthew Menietti, Iowa City, Freshman, $1,000

Iowa City: Kimbra Mixdorf, Iowa City, Senior, $1,000

Iowa City: Jerry Stone, Iowa City, Freshman, $1,000

Long Grove: Rocky Warren, Long Grove, Sophomore, $1,000

Muscatine: Thomas Morrison, Muscatine, Freshman, $1,000

Ottumwa: Ricki Monohon, Ottumwa, Senior, $1,000

Selma: Latisha Gordy, Selma, Freshman, $1,000


Little Rock: Kristin Wood, Little Rock, Freshman, $1,000


Bloomington: David Reyes, Bloomington, Sophomore, $1,000

Glenview: Jessica Petruzzello, Glenview, Freshman, $1,000

Glenwood: Gregory Scott, Glenwood, Sophomore, $1,000

Winfield: Monica Krisman, Sophomore, $1,000

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa News Services, 300 Plaza Centre One, Suite 371, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-2500.

CONTACTS: Gary Galluzzo, 319-384-0009,