The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release

Aug. 12, 2004

UI College Of Engineering Names Caterpillar Scholarship Winners

(Student name) of (hometown), a (year in school) in the University of Iowa College of Engineering, has been named the winner of a (dollar amount) Caterpillar Excellence Scholarship for 2004-2005 academic year.

Caterpillar Excellence Scholarships are provided to the College of Engineering by the Caterpillar Foundation, Peoria, Ill. Caterpillar Inc. is a long-time partner of the College of Engineering. With 2003 sales and revenues of $22.76 billion, Caterpillar is a technology leader and the world's leading manufacturer of construction and mining equipment, clean diesel and natural gas engines and industrial gas turbines.

The awards are given on the basis of merit.

One of 11 colleges on the University of Iowa campus, the College of Engineering has educational courses that date back more than a century. It teaches disciplines in biomedical, chemical and biochemical, civil and environmental, electrical and computer, industrial, and mechanical engineering. The college is recognized for its small, personalized size, and focused mission. Its location on a strong liberal arts campus -- with natural strengths in writing and communications, health sciences, business, law, and arts and humanities -- provides highly complementary resources to build the type of broad technological education demanded in a rapidly changing world. The college excels internationally in several specialty and interdisciplinary research areas, such as computer-aided design and simulation, human factors, environmental health solutions, biotechnology, medical imaging, hydraulics and water/air resources, and polymerization.

EDITOR: Scholarship winners are listed alphabetically by hometown, with Iowa recipients listed first and those from other states and countries following.


Cedar Rapids: Stephanie Iverson, Sophomore, $1000.

Davenport: Kendra Maxwell, Junior, $1500.

Iowa City: Emily Blackburn, Senior, $1000.

Iowa City: Rebecca Fetter, Senior, $1000.

Iowa City: Tomas Rodriguez, Senior, $2000.

Muscatine: Sunny Wilson, Junior, $1500.


Chicago: Jacqueline Alcantar, Sophomore, $1000.

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa News Services, 300 Plaza Centre One, Suite 371, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-2500.

MEDIA CONTACT: Gary Galluzzo, 319-384-0009,