The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release

April 6, 2004

Pharmacy Student Named To Honor Society

(Student name) of (hometown), a student in the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy, was inducted as a member of the Rho Chi Society, the national academic honor society in pharmacy, during an initiation ceremony April 2 in Coralville.

(Student last name) was inducted to the Delta Chapter, the UI-based chapter of the Rho Chi Society. To be accepted into the society, an initiate must be enrolled in a professional pharmacy program that is accredited by the American Council on Pharmaceutical Education; have completed no less than one-half of the required professional didactic coursework; rank in the highest 20 percent of their class; and have a minimum grade point average of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale.

Established in 1922, the Rho Chi Society encourages and recognizes excellence in intellectual achievement and advocates critical inquiry in all aspects of pharmacy.

EDITORS: Scholarship winners are listed below alphabetically by hometown, with Iowa inductees listed first.

Bettendorf: Kelly Arnold
Blue Grass: Melissa Storck
Cedar Rapids: Sarah Morio
Coralville: Adam Freiburger
Council Bluffs: Michelle O'Connor
Des Moines: Justin Nevins
Dubuque: Jessica Purcell; Laura Uthe
Eagle Grove: Laura Jorgensen
Edgewood: Rachel Jackson; Janice Worsham
Iowa City: Melissa Redeker; Jennifer Wood
St. Ansgar: Jillian Hernan
Sioux City: Kristina Beacom

Schaumburg: Kristin Prendergast

Livingston: Ira Buckner

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa Health Science Relations, 5139 Westlawn, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1178

MEDIA CONTACT: David Pedersen, (319) 335-8032,