The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release

Oct. 24, 2003

Skorton Releases Report From Committee On Campus Climate

University of Iowa President David Skorton today released the report of an ad hoc committee that examined the campus climate regarding issues of personal safety and freedom from harassment and assault.(View the report at

Appointed last February by Interim President Willard (Sandy) Boyd, the Climate Committee was asked to make recommendations on how best to communicate the existence and details of University policies against harassment and violence; what additional training and resources may be necessary to reduce assault and harassment on campus and to fairly deal with alleged victims and offenders; and whether the campus could benefit from discussions or a conference to fully air issues of harassment and violence.

"On behalf of the University, I offer a sincere thanks to the committee members for the careful and thoughtful manner in which they sought information and input from constituencies across the campus," Skorton said. "Their recommendations have started us down the road toward the goal of promoting trust, healing and growth."

"As I have done with other committee reports, I am releasing the report now so that the entire University community can review it and share their responses with the committee and with me," Skorton said. "I will consider the recommendations and will announce my response in several weeks."

Jennifer Glass, professor of sociology in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, chaired the committee. Other members were Sam Cochran, director of University Counseling Services; Wayne Angel, former UI women's cross-country coach; Judy Polumbaum, associate professor of journalism and Human Rights Committee member; Jan Waterhouse, compliance officer in the Office of Equal Opportunity and Diversity and Human Rights Committee member; Judie Hermsen, assistant director, Human Resources; Nick Herbold, student and former president of UI Student Government; Michelle Choe, law student; Carissa Swanstrom, undergraduate student; and Peter Nathan, professor of community and behavioral health in the College of Public Health.

Ex Officio members of the committee were Charlotte Westerhaus, director of the Office of Equal Opportunity and Diversity; Karla Miller, director of the Rape Victim Advocacy Program; Monique DiCarlo, director of the Women's Resource and Action Center; and Peter Hubbard, senior assistant director, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

The text of the report and attachments are available at this web site:

STORY SOURCE: University Relations, 101 Jessup Hall, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1000.

MEDIA CONTACT: Steve Parrott, 319-335-0552,