The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release

Nov. 14, 2003

Local Student Is A Member Of University Of Iowa Symphony Band

(Name) of (hometown) is a member of the 2003-04 Symphony Band at the University of Iowa. (Name), a (class standing) at the UI who plays the (instrument) with the band, is a graduate of (high school).

The top concert band at the UI School of Music, the Symphony Band is directed by UI Director of Bands Myron Welch. The band currently includes more than 70 students from 14 states and several foreign countries.

The UI Symphony Band performs many of its own full-length concerts during the year, both on and off-campus. Its program contains contemporary works and transcriptions as well as standard band repertoire. Among its upcoming events, the Symphony Band will participate in the annual Band Extravaganza, at 7:30 p.m. Nov. 18 and 1,9 in Hancher Auditorium on the UI campus.

In addition to the Symphony Band, the Band Extravaganza features: the Johnson County Landmark jazz band, directed by Brent Sandy, and the Hawkeye Marching Band, under director Kevin Kastens.

Over the past 34 years, the Band Extravaganza has become one of the UI's most popular events. Audiences are drawn from across the state, including high school band members and their directors, former band members, Hawkeye fans and just about anyone who enjoys a rousing concert of band music.

Welch will conduct the Symphony Band in three pieces for the Band Extravaganza: Paul Creston's "Celebration Overture," "Spoon River" by Percy Grainger, and Gustav Holst's First Suite in E-flat.

Welch has been director of bands at the UI since 1980. In addition to conducting the Symphony Band and Chamber Wind Ensemble, Welch teaches courses in instrumental methods and conducting, and is coordinator of the Iowa Honor Band. He was recently named a Collegiate Fellow in the UI College of Liberal Arts in recognition of years of distinguished teaching, research and service to the college.

The School of Music is part of the Division of Performing Arts in the UI College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

For information on UI arts events, visit on the World Wide Web. You may visit the UI School of Music web site at To receive UI arts news by e-mail, contact

* * *
NOTE TO EDITORS: Receipt of this release indicates that a student from your community or readership area is a member of the 2003-04 UI Symphony Band. Students' names are listed below, alphabetically by hometown, with Iowa hometowns listed first. After each hometown name, the listing provides the names of high schools from which the students graduated, each student's name, class standing at the UI, and the instrument the student plays in the band. Please note that these listings are based on information provided by the students; some listings may not be complete. Editors are also advised to check the hometown listings of all communities in their region.

ANKENY: Ankeny High School - Joseph Andersen, freshman, clarinet
BETTENDORF: Bettendorf High School - Carl Collins, graduate, clarinet
BOONE: Boone High School - Joe Morphew, freshman, tuba; Dan Terrell, sophomore, trumpet
CEDAR RAPIDS: Kennedy High School - Abby Kegel, junior, flute
CHARLES CITY: Charles City High School - Ashley Marr, junior, clarinet
CLINTON: Clinton High School - Amy Letcher, senior, euphonium
CORALVILLE: Jane Williams, graduate, saxophone
COUNCIL BLUFFS: Abraham Lincoln High School - Steven Wheeler, senior, trumpet
DES MOINES: Lincoln High School - Christopher Cass, percussion
--Saydel High School - Suzanne Fox, freshman, horn
--Des Moines Christian High School - Gregory Mazunik, junior, tuba
--Hoover High School - Brad Miller, junior, trombone
EPWORTH: Western Dubuque High School - Jennifer Heacock, freshman, clarinet
INDEPENDENCE: Independence High School - Sarita Dave, senior, clarinet; Leah Ledtje, sophomore, trumpet
INDIANOLA: Indianola High School - Jessica Welborn, freshman, clarinet
IOWA CITY: Fritzgerald Barrau, sophomore, trumpet; Bruno Faria, graduate, flute; Michael Lichnovsky, graduate, saxophone
--City High High School - Daniel Babb, freshman, clarinet; Allison Page, sophomore, flute
--West High School - Jordan Fiebelkorn, freshman, euphonium; Ashley Jogerst, junior, percussion
JEFFERSON: Jefferson-Stranton High School - Ryan Van Gilder, junior, trombone
KNOXVILLE: Knoxville High School - Andrew Brobston, graduate, saxophone
LE MARS: Le Mars Community High School - Heidi Venaas, senior, oboe
MANCHESTER: West Delaware High School - Cindy Mickens, sophomore, bassoon
MAQUOKETA: Maquoketa High School - Joel Crawford, senior, trumpet
MARION: Linn-Mar High School - Michelle Colton, sophomore, percussion
MT. PLEASANT: Mt. Pleasant High School - Lucas Moore, graduate, trombone
ORANGE CITY: MOC/FV High School - Chris Verdoorn, senior, trumpet
OSKALOOSA: Oskaloosa High School - Dameon Place, saxophone
SOLON: Solon High School - Theresa Anderson, sophomore, trumpet
TIFFIN: Clear Creek Amana High School - Nile Dusdieker, senior, percussion
VINTON: Vinton-Shellsburg High School - Kimberly Coe-Meeks, senior, trumpet
WATERLOO: Waterloo West High School - Mike Pollock, senior, percussion
WEST DES MOINES: Valley High School - Heidi Blake, junior, clarinet

FRESNO: Bullard High School - Jeff Emerich, graduate, saxophone
PETALUMA: Casa Grande High School - Dani Reynolds, freshman, french horn

CEDARTOWN: Cedartown High School - Casey Thomas, graduate, tuba
MARION: Central High School -- Michael Helman, Jr., graduate, horn

AURORA: Marmion Academy - Shaye Bowman, junior, bassoon
CARL STREAM: Glenbard High School - Raymond Mietus, graduate, percussion
ELMHURST: York Community High School - Betsy Skat, sophomore, french horn; Daniel Sorce, junior, clarinet
LOCKPORT: Lockport Township High School - Meghan Fulton, senior, horn
MACOMB: Macomb High School - Ben Wise, senior, euphonium
METAMORA: Metamora High School - Jamie Schneider, senior, oboe
MOLINE: Moline High School - Zack Morton, sophomore, trombone
MUNDELEIN: Mundelein High School - Matthew Farmer, junior, trumpet
NAPERVILLE: Neuqua Valley High School -Sara Haack, sophomore, flute; Scott Jastrow, sophomore, euphonium
RANTOEL: Rantoel Township - Sean Harris, graduate, percussion
STERLING: Sterling High School - Ken Ausman, tuba; Shandra Feldthouse, graduate, clarinet

MINNETONKA: Hopkins High School - Kat Payne, senior, bassoon
ST LOUIS PARK: Benilde St Margaret's High School - Kate Shepherd, senior, clarinet

DONIPHAN: Doniphan High School - Michael Knight, graduate, trombone

TAYLORSVILLE: Taylorsville High School - Patrick Creel, graduate, horn

LEWISTOWN: Fergus High School - Lisa Bost, senior, flute

FT. CALHOUN: Ft. Calhoun High School - Jason Diefenbaugh, graduate, saxophone, clarinet
PLATTSMOUTH: Plattsmouth High School - Regina Cole, graduate, saxophone

MASSILLON: Jackson High School - Heather Gozdan, graduate, clarinet

SPRINGFIELD: Cardinal O'Hara High School - Laura Heinrichs, sophomore, flute

ROUND ROCK: Round Rock High School - Brian Vanderschaat, senior, oboe

BEDFORD: Liberty High School - Julia Mays, graduate, clarinet
VIRGINIA BEACH: First Colonial High School - Michael Albarracin, senior, trombone; Jennifer Thomas, senior, trumpet

SEATTLE: Garfield High School - Loren Stata, graduate, bassoon

June Thean, freshman, trumpet

CHANGHUA: Huihsuan Liang, graduate, flute

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa Arts Center Relations, 300 Plaza Centre One, Suite 351, Iowa City, IA 52242-2500.

MEDIA CONTACT: Peter Alexander, 319-384-0072,