The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release

May 30, 2003

EDITORS: Receipt of this release means that one of the honored students is from a hometown in your newspaper's circulation area. Cities include: Ankeny, Avoca, Davenport, Des Moines, Huxley, Ida Grove, Le Mars, Marion, Mount Union, Ottumwa, Seymour and West Des Moines. The list below includes the award recipient's hometown and the award(s) that person received.

Business Students And Organizations Honored For Achievements

Each spring, special events throughout the University of Iowa recognize the outstanding accomplishments of students and student organizations. Students from the Tippie College of Business typically earn numerous honors, and this year 14 students were honored.

Kristin Trotzig, Le Mars, received a Hawkeye Achievement Award as special recognition from the UI Student Government for her service as an officer.

Brianne Miller, Mount Union, was awarded the Delta Sigma Pi Scholarship Key. It is given each year to the graduating senior with the highest academic average during his or her four years of undergraduate study in business.

Jill Beckwith, West Des Moines, received the Collegiate Scholar Award. This award is given to a graduating senior based on academic accomplishments.

Matt Cole, in the economics department of the Tippie College, received the Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award for 2002-2003. He is from Des Moines.

Ty Porter Doggett, Seymour, received the Outstanding Master of Accountancy Student Award for 2003. The award was presented by the department of accounting and is sponsored by The Federation of Schools of Accountancy.

Brandon R. Miller, Ida Grove, received the Outstanding Accounting Senior Award while Kira Selser, Davenport, and Stephen J. Newman, Ankeny, both received Outstanding Accounting Junior Awards.

Peter M. Nelson, West Des Moines, and Katie M. True, Avoca, received the Outstanding Achievement in Writing Award for Juniors and Seniors, respectively. Tom and Patrice Carroll are the sponsors of the junior award, and Deere and Company is the sponsor of the senior award.

Laura Pixley, Ottumwa, won another award sponsored by Deere and Company. She won the Writing Award for a Master of Accountancy.

Brett A. Anderson from Marion, Iowa, Nicholas W. Whisler from Huxley and Ty Porter Doggett from Seymour, all received Byron R. Ross Awards for Teaching Excellence (for Teaching Assistants) from the Department of Accounting. The endowed awards were established to recognize Byron R. Ross who, following his retirement with McGladrey & Pullen, served as an adjunct professor in the Department of Accounting for a number of years. The awards are based on the winners' strong commitment to education, as evidenced by teaching evaluations, pedagogical innovations and good citizenship.

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa News Services, 300 Plaza Centre One, Suite 371, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-2500.

MEDIA CONTACT: George McCrory, 319-384-0012, Writer: Barbara Thomas