The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release

May 14, 2003

UI Department Of Anatomy And Cell Biology Honors Students

The University of Iowa department of anatomy and cell biology held its annual student awards ceremony and reception April 25. During the ceremony seven students were honored for their academic achievements.

Mark Petersen received the W. R. Ingram Award for Superior Achievement in Medical Neuroscience, which is given in recognition of outstanding performance by a medical student in the medical neuroscience course. Ingram, a pioneer in anatomical and functional research of the hypothalamus and thalamus, served as head of anatomy from 1940-1966 and was professor emeritus at the time of his death in 1978.

Matthew Stern was the recipient of the Tung-Yang Wing Award for Superior Achievement in Anatomy and Cell Biology Graduate Education. This award acknowledges outstanding academic achievement in the first year of anatomy and cell biology graduate education. The award commemorates Tung-Yang Wing, Ph.D., a UI anatomy faculty member until his death in 1985. Wing is remembered for his intense interest in the development and academic achievements of graduate students.

Neal Jones received the Michael W. Finkelstein Award for Superior Achievement in Dental Histology. This award is presented annually to the first-year dental student who is deemed to have shown particular dedication to the ideals of scholarship and professionalism exemplified by Finkelstein during his tenure as professor of oral pathology and anatomy at the UI.

Mark Heller was presented with the Henry J. Prentiss Award for Superior Achievement in Medical Gross Anatomy. This award is given to a first-year medical student in recognition for outstanding performance in the medical gross anatomy course. Prentiss, who served as head of the anatomy department from 1904-1931, believed that it was important for medical students to perform to the best of their abilities in basic, as well as clinical, sciences.

Greg Williams was presented with the Award for Superior Achievement in Dental Gross Anatomy, which is given to a first-year dental student whose performance is judged outstanding by faculty teaching dental gross anatomy.

Also honored were Matthew Zimmerman and Timothy Lindley, both of whom received the Award for Superior Achievement in Student Teaching in Anatomy and Cell Biology. The award is given to graduate students whose teaching performance is judged outstanding by the course directors in the department.

University of Iowa Health Care describes the partnership between the UI Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine and UI Hospitals and Clinics and the patient care, medical education and research programs and services they provide. Visit UI Health Care online at

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa Health Science Relations, 5141 Westlawn, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1178

CONTACT: Jennifer Brown, (319) 335-9917