The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release

May 7, 2003

Local Student Honored For Work With UI Greeks

(NAME OF STUDENT), a University of Iowa student from (HOMETOWN), was one of 13 people recently honored for their work in building and strengthening the university's fraternity and sorority system.

(STUDENT) was honored with the (NAME OF AWARD OR SCHOLARSHIP).

The university's annual Tagarista awards were presented during a dinner April 16. Meaning "that which is the best" in Greek, Tagarista presents chapter excellence awards to the top fraternity and sorority in eight categories. Individual awards are also presented to fraternity and sorority members in another eight categories, including Man of the Year and Woman of the Year.

EDITORS: Receipt of this release means that one of the honored students is from a hometown in your newspaper's circulation area. Cities include Bettendorf, Davenport, Cedar Rapids, Farley, Iowa City and Nevada, IA; Naperville, Lincolnshire and Rockford, IL; and Blair, NE. The list below includes the award recipient's hometown and the award(s) that person received.

Katie Hermanson, T. Anne Cleary Scholarship
Kay Pauszek, Junior Women's Scholarship

Brad Downes, Individual Brotherhood Award
Karin Murray, Individual Sisterhood Award

Cedar Rapids
Amy Headington, Chapter President of the Year

Angela Wolfe, Greek Woman of the Year

Iowa City
Anna Lackender, Outstanding Senior Woman Award

Eric Parker, Randy Ross Senior Leadership Award

Anna Pyster, Panhellenic Officer of the Year

Catherine Giese, Helen Reich Scholarship
Rich Oloffson, Chapter President of the Year

David Cooling, Individual Community Service Award

Brand Newland, Greek Man of the Year, Intrafraternity Council Officer of the Year, and NIC Award of Distinction

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa News Service, 300 Plaza Centre One, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-2500.

CONTACT(S): Tom Snee, 319-384-0010,