The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release

June 3, 2003

Awards Presented At UI College Of Public Health Honors Dinner

Students, faculty and staff were honored at the annual University of Iowa College of Public Health Graduation and Honors Dinner and Milford E. Barnes Awards Ceremony held May 16.

Five students received Milford E. Barnes Awards for outstanding work in their areas of study. The recipients were Jeff M. Allen, Ph.D., department of biostatistics; Laura E. Beane Freeman, Ph.D., department of epidemiology; Natalie A. Gerstner, department of health management and policy; Craig D. Gehrels, department of occupational and environmental health; and Mark C. Taylor, M.D., master of public health degree program. The awards are named for Milford E. Barnes, M.D., who served as professor and head of the department of hygiene and preventive medicine from 1930-1952.

Alma Brenda Saldivar, department of epidemiology, received the Dean's Achievement Award. The department of health management and policy presented the John W. Colloton Outstanding Student Award to Chad E. Shearer, and the Frank N. Whitson Award for Academic Achievement to Eric R. Bloom.

Four faculty members were honored for receiving 2002-2003 College of Public Health-College of Medicine New Investigator Research Awards. The awards assist newly appointed primary or joint faculty in the College of Public Health or Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine to advance their research activities. The recipients were: Peter M. Cram, M.D., assistant professor of internal medicine; N. Andrew Peterson, Ph.D., assistant professor of community and behavioral health; Brian J. Smith, Ph.D., assistant professor of biostatistics; and Ergun Y. Uc, M.D., assistant professor (clinical) of neurology.

The College of Public Health Faculty Teaching Award went to Michael P. Jones, Ph.D., professor of biostatistics. Kelley J. Donham, D.V.M., professor of occupational and environmental health, received the Faculty Service Award, and Nancy L. Sprince, M.D., professor of occupational and environmental health, received the Faculty Research Award.

The Staff Research Award was given to Justine M. Ritchie, Ph.D., assistant research scientist in the department of biostatistics, and the Staff Service Award was presented to Kristin K. Grover, College of Public Health facilities coordinator.

The inaugural College of Public Health Outstanding Alumni Awards were presented to Richard C. Breon, president and chief executive officer, Spectrum Health, Grand Rapids, Mich.; James D. Leeper, chairman, department of community and rural medicine, University of Alabama School of Medicine, Tuscaloosa, Ala.; and Susan L. Slager, research associate, division of biostatistics, department of health sciences research, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn.

STORY SOURCE: The University of Iowa College of Public Health Office of Communications, 4257 Westlawn, Iowa City, Iowa 52242.

MEDIA CONTACTS: Debra Venzke, 319-335-9647,