The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

300 Plaza Centre One
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0007; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: Jan. 28, 2003

University of Iowa Receives 15 ADDY Awards

The University of Iowa this year netted 15 ADDY awards recognizing creative excellence in advertising and design of promotional materials, including coveted Best of Category Awards for the Division of Continuing Education, the College of Public Health and Iowa Memorial Union Marketing and Design Department.

The awards were announced during the 2002 ADDY Awards Gala held Jan. 18 at the Crowne Plaza Five Seasons Hotel in Cedar Rapids and sponsored by the Advertising Federation of Cedar Rapids.

The Division of Continuing Education's Center for Credit Programs took in eight awards, seven of them for a variety of materials promoting the UI Bachelor of Liberal Studies (BLS) external degree program. Developed around the theme "Become, Learn, Soar," these materials included a folder, program recruitment booklet and program promotional brochure. Creative use of hawk images integrated the design of the pieces. The eighth award was earned for the cover of the Center for Credit Program's July 2002 Guided Independent Study catalog.

The Best in Category award recognized the ensemble of BLS materials in the Sales Promotion category. Individual pieces were awarded two ADDY awards. The BLS materials also earned four Citation of Excellence awards while the Guided Independent Study (GIS) catalog cover received one such citation.

Credit Programs staff members Agnieszka Ligendza and Diane DeBok, who collaborated in designing and writing the award-winning print publications, accepted the awards.

The UI College of Public Health won Best of Category for its annual report, "Defining Moments in Public Health." Daniel McMillan served as editor on the report, Debra Venzke and Leslie Loveless served as writers, Patti O'Neill was designer/art director, illustrations were done by Claudia McGehee and Cheryl Jacobsen, and the photography was done by Danny Wilcox Frazier.

The Iowa Memorial Union Marketing and Design Department also won Best of Category in the area of mixed media for its IM4U promotional campaign, which employed a combination of websites, posters, brochures, T-shirts and other materials targeted at students. Bret Gothe was the creative director, with Lisa Langel as writer, Craig McKinney as designer and Drew Schiller as interactive designer.

Other awards included:

* An ADDY for the University of Iowa's 2001-02 Annual Report, "Blueprints for the Future," produced for the UI President's Office. Tom Jorgensen of the University Relations Publications staff is listed as a contributor to the publication for his photographs.

* A Citation of Excellence for "Serving Iowa and Beyond," the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics Annual Report. Contributors to the report included editor Michael Sondergard, designer Lee Ann Williams, photo coordinator Rita Liddell, photographer Doug Benton of Fisheye Photography in Hiawatha and writers Evan Peterson and Clancy Champanois.

* A Citation of Excellence for the cover of the "Blueprints for the Future," the UI's 2001-02 Annual Report, produced for the UI President's Office. Contributors included director Lesanne Fliehler, editor Gary Kuhlmann, designer Ann Freerks, photographers Tom Jorgensen, Kirk Murray and Tim Schoon and consulting editor Thomas K. Dean.

* A Citation of Excellence for the IMU Marketing and Design Department for its MLK poster, designed under the direction of creative director Bret Gothe by illustrator Chen Wang and designers Brian Anstey and Adam Kopp.

* A Citation of Excellence for the IMU Marketing and Design Department for its IMU Virtual Tour, a web-based, interactive tour of the Iowa Memorial Union that makes use of video clips, 360-degree images and other visual elements to depict IMU facilities and activities. The project's webmaster was Ben Lewis and the web designer was Chris Zhou.

* The Collateral Material-Covers Only-Magazine Award was presented to Benson & Hepker Design, Iowa City, for the UI College of Engineering's "Iowa Engineer" alumni magazine.