The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

300 Plaza Centre One
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0073; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: Jan. 10, 2003


The Kronos Quartet’s recording of “Nuevo,” a program of Mexican popular music co-commissioned by the University of Iowa Hancher Auditorium, is a Grammy Award nominee in the “Best Classical Crossover Album” category. The 2003 Grammy Award nominations were announced Jan. 3 in Los Angeles by the Recording Academy.

The Kronos Quartet performed the world premiere of the “Nuevo” concert March 2, 2002, in Hancher Auditorium.

William Rubright and the late Emilie Rubright were the supporters of the Kronos commissions and premiere, through the University of Iowa Foundation. Hancher’s “Nuevo” co-commissioners and co-supporters are Performing Arts Center/University of Texas, Austin; Washington Performing Arts Society; Cal Performances/University of California, Berkeley; Montalvo Center for the Arts; UA Presents/University of Arizona, Tucson; National Endowment for the Arts; the California Challenge Program of the California Arts Council; the US-Mexico Fund for Culture; the James Irvine Foundation; the William and Flora Hewlett Foundation; the San Francisco Foundation, Judithe Bizot; and Simon Collier.

For UI arts information and calendar updates, visit . To receive UI arts news by e-mail, contact .

* * *

KRONOS QUARTET/HANCHER -- commissions and premieres

1989 -- Assembly Required visual design, commission

Kevin Volans, “The Songlines,” commission

1990 -- world premieres of commissioned visual designs for Terry Riley’s “Salome Dances

for Peace” and George Crumb’s “Black Angels”

1991 -- commission of “Mai Nozipo” by Dumisane Maraire (“Pieces of Africa” world premiere)

Christian Marclay and Jay Cloidt commission (world premiere)

1992 -- Scott Johnson “How it Happens (Words of I.F. Stone),” commission (world premiere)

1994 -- Michelle DiBucci and Randall Wolf arrangements of music by Raymond Scott, commissions

John Oswald, “Mach,” commission

1995 -- Brent Michael Davids, “Tunpao Nenangpe” commission

Ben Johnston arrangements of music by Harry Partch, commission

1996 -- Tan Dun, “Ghost Opera,” commission

PQ Phan, “Memoirs of a Lost Soul,” commission (world premiere)

1998 -- Ben Johnston, arrangement of music by Harry Partch, commission

1999 -- “Traveling Music” (concert world premiere), including --

Rahul Dev Burman, arr. Osvaldo Golijov, “Tonight is the Night” (world premiere)

Kayhan Kalhor, “Gallop of a Thousand Horses,” commission

Hyo-Shin Na, “Song of the Beggars,” commission

Alicia Svingals, “Kale Baveynen II, commission (world premiere)

Aleksandra Vrebalov, “Panonia Boundless,” commission

2000 -- Gabriela Ortiz, “Baalkah,” commission,

“Tonight is the Night” concert world premiere with Dawn Upshaw

2002 -- “Nuevo” (co-commission and concert world premiere)

Terry Riley/Donald Gurnett “Sun Rings,” co-commission (world premiere)