The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa Foundation News Release

Dec. 11, 2003

Photos (from top): Charles M. Kierscht, Curtis K. Lane and Elisabeth Foxley Leach. Click each thumbnail photo for a high-resolution version of the image.

Foundation Board Elects New Chair And Directors

The University of Iowa Foundation Board of Directors has elected Charles M. Kierscht of Hinsdale, Ill., to a three-year term as chair, succeeding Carroll J. Reasoner of Cedar Rapids, who had served as chair since 2000. The board also elected two new directors, re-elected five directors and elected officers and executive committee members. All are University of Iowa graduates.

Kierscht graduated from the UI College of Law in 1962. He joined Chicago-based Kemper Financial Services as an attorney in 1966 and retired from the company in 1995 as chairman, president and CEO. Kierscht has been a member of the UI Foundation Board of Directors since 1987. He chaired the recently completed Iowa Law School Endowment Campaign for the 21st Century, which exceeded its $25 million goal by nearly $8 million. Kierscht also serves on the Iowa Law School Foundation board and is a member of the UI's National Campaign Steering Committee.

The new directors elected to three-year terms on the UI Foundation board are Curtis K. Lane of Omaha, Neb., and Elisabeth Foxley Leach of Iowa City.

Lane earned a B.B.A. degree in insurance and finance in 1973 from the UI business school. He is co-founder and portfolio manager for Concordant Partners, LLC, an investment services firm in Omaha. He and his wife, Carol Brindley Lane, recently established the Curt and Carol Lane Faculty Fellowship Fund in the UI's Henry B. Tippie College of Business.

Leach earned an M.A. degree in art from the UI in 1972. An active volunteer for the UI and for arts organizations in eastern Iowa and Washington, D.C., she has served on the advisory committee of the UI Museum of Art and the campaign committee for the Iowa Women's Archives at the UI Libraries.

The board of directors also re-elected five incumbent members to serve additional three-year terms: Sue Cannon of Marana, Ariz.; Ralph H. Congdon of Davenport; Leonard A. Hadley of Cedar Rapids; Mary Louise Petersen of Harlan, Iowa; and Carroll J. Reasoner of Cedar Rapids.

In other action during its October 2003 meeting, the foundation board recognized the following individuals for exceptional service to the organization:

-- Outgoing board chair Carroll Reasoner

-- Richard S. Levitt of Minneapolis, who has served on the foundation board since 1976 and was named a lifetime honorary director

-- William V. Phelan of Iowa City, who has served as the foundation's legal counsel for more than 40 years

-- UI Foundation Senior Vice President Alan Swanson, who is stepping down to pursue outside vocational and avocational interests following 30 years on the foundation staff

Serving on the foundation's Executive Committee for 2003-2004 are James C. Hanson of Moline; Charles M. Kierscht; Gary F. Seamans of Galena, Ill.; Marvin A. Pomerantz of Des Moines; Carroll J. Reasoner; Robert W. Verhille of Solon, Iowa; and Catherine Zaharis of Des Moines.

The UI Foundation is acknowledged by the UI as a preferred channel for private contributions that benefit all areas of the university. For more information about the UI Foundation, visit its web site at

STORY SOURCE: UI Foundation, P.O. Box 4550, Iowa City, Iowa 52244-4550

MEDIA CONTACT: Susan Shullaw, 319-335-3305, ext. 861; 800-648-6973, ext. 861;