The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release

Release: April 25, 2003

UI Students Participate In Leadership Institute

(Student name), a/an (academic major) major at the University of Iowa, is one of 27 undergraduate students who recently participated in the UI College of Engineering’s Student Leadership Institute held at the Pella Corporation, Pella, Iowa.

Founded in 1999, the institute is designed to encourage students to consider, discuss, and wrestle with leadership issues such as professional ethics, self-motivation and group motivation, and diversity in the workplace. Since then, successful Student Leadership Institutes have been conducted on the average of twice yearly. In addition to including faculty and staff facilitators from the College of Engineering, the Henry B. Tippie College of Business and the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, the seminar features recognized UI alumni who are leaders in business and industry eager to share experiences from their careers.


Editor: Student participants are listed alphabetically by hometown, with Iowa listed first and other states following.


AMES: Jacek Pruski, geography and political science.

CEDAR RAPIDS: Brandon Fitz, electrical engineering.

CLINTON: Geoffrey Dunmore, finance.

CLINTON: Mike Letsch, finance and Management Information Systems.

DUBUQUE: Erica Enstrom, industrial engineering.

DES MOINES: Melissa Soda, accounting and Spanish.

DUBUQUE: Ben Anderegg, chemical engineering.

EMMETSBURG: Nicole Cook, finance minor: Spanish and International Business Certificate, with an accounting emphasis.

LONG GROVE: Kelly Oster, marketing.

MASON CITY: Emily Becker, marketing/finance.

PELLA: Steve Fisher, marketing.

SIOUX CITY: Isaac Hodgins, civil engineering.

SOLON: Yashaar Chaichian, political science and premedicine.

WEST DES MOINES: Jonathan Strutt, psychology and premedicine.

WEST DES MOINES: Andrew Walters, biomedical engineering.

WASHINGTON: Quinn Johnson, philosophy, accounting and finance, and economics.


HONOLULU: Jamie Nakamoto, electrical and computer engineering.


CRYSTAL LAKE: Michael Mucha, economics.

EAST MOLINE: Stephanie Winter, chemical engineering.

ELGIN: Jesse Elliott, literature, science, the arts, and political science.

FREEPORT: Christina Schmitt, management.

GLENCOE: Denise Armbruster, environmental engineering.

MOKENA: B. Luke Pomranky, mechanical engineering.

ORLAND PARK: Kyle Flondor, industrial engineering/business management.

STERLING: Emily Blackburn, mechanical engineering.


BUFFALO: Cole Demmer, marketing.


LINCOLN: Kimberly Ma, biomedical engineering.


STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa News Services, 300 Plaza Centre One, Suite 371, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-2500.

CONTACTS: Gary Galluzzo, University of Iowa News Services 319-384-0012,