The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release

Release: April 16, 2003

UI Names Outstanding Teaching Assistants

The University of Iowa has named 25 teaching assistants the winners of the Outstanding Teaching Assistant Awards for 2002-03. Winners receive a certificate of achievement and $1,000. They will be honored at an award reception Friday, April 25 from 3:30-4:30 p.m. in the Iowa Memorial Union Stateroom.

The awards have been given each year since 1988 by the Council on Teaching. The awardees are teaching assistants who taught for at least one semester during the spring, summer, or fall of 2002. Nominations for the awards are sought from students, faculty, colleagues, departmental officers, and deans.

Lola Lopes, associate provost for undergraduate education, said the awards honor the teaching assistants for their dedication to undergraduate teaching and for their outstanding service to the university.

"Teaching assistants help us provide small-class experiences for every student in critical courses like rhetoric," she said. "They also run discussion sections for large lectures and they staff resources like the Writing Lab and the Math Lab. TA accessibility and enthusiasm are much valued by undergraduates in all our programs."

The 2002-03 Outstanding Teaching Assistants are:

Tippie College of Business
Brett Anderson, accounting

College of Education
Heidi Tafolla, curriculum and instruction

College of Engineering
Mohammad Obadat, civil and environmental engineering

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Monica Ackerland, Spanish and Portuguese; Amy Aldridge, communication studies; Jennifer Banash, English/general education literature; William Behrends, German; Allison Brcka, mathematics; Carla Colletti, music; Jennifer Croft, English/general education literature; Stephen Deyrup, chemistry; LuAnn Dvorak, rhetoric; Cynthia Farthing, mathematics; Gary Jarvis, history; Greg Jesson, philosophy; Wesley Kisting, English/general education literature; Jennifer McGovern, English/general education literature; Pablo Molina, chemistry; Michiko Nakagawa, Asian languages and literature; Mary O'Donnell, Spanish and Portuguese; Jed Peterson, history; Tracy Slagter, political science; Courtney Stewart, geoscience; Takeshi Yasuda, physics and astronomy

Carver College of Medicine
Smita Rao, physical therapy and rehabilitation science

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa News Services, 300 Plaza Centre One, Suite 371, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-2500.

CONTACT(S): Media: Mary Geraghty Kenyon, 319-384-0011,