The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

University of Iowa News Release

Release: April 14, 2002

UI Pharmacy Students Named To Honor Society

(Student name) of (hometown), a student in the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy, was inducted as a member of the Rho Chi Society, the national academic honor society in pharmacy, during an initiation ceremony April 4 in Coralville.

(Student last name) was inducted to the Delta Chapter, the UI-based chapter of the Rho Chi Society. To be accepted into the society, an initiate must be enrolled in a professional pharmacy program that is accredited by the American Council on Pharmaceutical Education; have completed no less than one-half of the required professional didactic coursework; rank in the highest 20 percent of their class; and have a minimum grade point average of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale.

Established in 1922, the Rho Chi Society encourages and recognizes excellence in intellectual achievement and advocates critical inquiry in all aspects of pharmacy.

Scholarship winners are listed below alphabetically by hometown, with Iowa inductees listed first.

ADEL: Jennifer McCoy
ALGONA: Renee Matz
ALLISON: Kirk Eckhoff
BELLEVUE: Tiffany Griebel
CEDAR RAPIDS: Matthew Cantrell; Howard Cobb, Jr.
CLARENCE: Cynthia Pruess
COON RAPIDS: Brenda Patrick
CORALVILLE: Lisbeth Avakian
DAVENPORT: Heather Bream
DUBUQUE: Peter Schlickman
EVANSDALE: Stacy Nagle
HULL: Joseph Vande Griend
OELWEIN: Anne Pelc
SIOUX CITY: Jacqueline Hodgins
WEBSTER CITY: Michael Fertig

BLAIR: Brand Newland

CUSTER: Jessie Dunne

STORY SOURCE: University of Iowa Health Science Relations, 5135 Westlawn, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1178

CONTACT: David Pedersen, (319) 335-8032,