The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


300 Plaza Centre One
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0011; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: Sept. 23, 2002

University Convocation scheduled for Oct. 1

Awards for faculty and staff excellence in teaching, research, and service will highlight the annual University Convocation at 7:30 p.m., Tuesday, Oct. 1 in Macbride Auditorium. The convocation will be followed by a reception in Iowa Hall, the UI Museum of Natural History.

UI Interim President Willard "Sandy" Boyd will speak briefly -- his remarks titled, "Intermezzo" -- and also will announce the recipient of the President's Award for Technology Innovation, which recognizes the most creative use of technology in teaching in the past year.

Jeffrey Cox, president of UI Faculty Senate, will provide opening remarks. J. David Martin, president of the UI Staff Council, will give the closing remarks.

Provost Jon Whitmore will present the faculty awards, assisted by the deans of the colleges and Cox. Staff awards will be presented by Sue Buckley, associate vice president and director of human resources.

Awards include those for outstanding staff, collegiate teaching, and faculty scholars as well as the Regents Awards for Faculty Excellence and Staff Excellence, the Michael J. Brody Awards for Faculty Excellence in Service, and the Philip G. Hubbard Award for Outstanding Education.