The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


300 Plaza Centre One
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0012; fax (319) 384-0024
(952) 681-3040

Release: Sept. 13, 2002




WHAT: An open house and tours of NCS Pearson Oakdale's new 37,500-square-foot facility at the Corridor Technology Center, preceded by a groundbreaking for a 30,000-square-foot Building II at the site.

WHO: Invited guests include Iowa Congressman Jim Leach; University of Iowa Interim President Sandy Boyd; Owen Newlin, president, Board of Regents, State of Iowa; Mary Westbrook, vice president and general manager of the Post-Secondary Services Division of NCS Pearson; and David Skorton, vice president for research and external relations at the UI.

WHEN: Tuesday, Sept. 17. Tours for media/dignitaries are at 9 a.m. Groundbreaking for Building II begins at 10 a.m., followed by a program, reception and guided public tours of the new facility.

WHERE: NCS Pearson, Oakdale Research Park, 2450 Oakdale Blvd., Coralville.

WHY: The NCS Pearson building is the largest private development on the Oakdale Research Park and is one of the most significant technology developments in the Iowa City-Cedar Rapids Technology Corridor. The building was added to allow for NCS Pearson's expansion in its Government Solutions division. About 175 employees work at the Corridor Technology Center, with 100 more expected to work in Building II, which is scheduled for completion in February 2003.

NCS Pearson's Government Solutions business has its program and development staff located within the Oakdale facility. The projects and programs supported by these groups include work that is done on behalf of clients of Government Solutions and for staff functions such as EDExpress, Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) on the Web, Editorial Services Contract (ESC), Student Authentication Network (STAN) and STAN II for the U.S. Department of Education; the Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS); Office of Personnel Management (OPM); Transportation Security Administration (TSA); and Taxpayer Relief Act (TRA) and Iowa Grants.