The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


300 Plaza Centre One
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0011; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: Sept. 6, 2002

UI professor named Journalism Educator of the Year

Richard Johns, a journalism professor in the University of Iowa College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, has been named Journalism Educator of the Year by a national journalism educators group. The Scholastic Division of the Association of Education in Journalism and Mass Communication presented the award at the AEJMC annual convention in Miami last month.

A member of the UI faculty since 1972, Johns has been executive director of Quill and Scroll Society for 30 years. The international honorary society for high school journalists is based at the UI School of Journalism and Mass Communication. Johns is the editor of Quill & Scroll magazine, which is published quarterly during the school year. He also serves as advisor to the school's chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ), which won the National Outstanding Chapter Award in 2000 and 2001.

In recognition of his 30 years of Quill and Scroll leadership and service as SPJ advisor, Johns received a plaque from Pam Creedon, director of the School of Journalism and Mass Communication, at a faculty meeting just before the start of this academic year.

Johns teaches advanced media design and methods for secondary school journalism and also conducts workshops for student editors and advisers at state high school press association conventions throughout the country. He is editor of the newly revised "Principal's Guide to Scholastic Journalism," published by Quill and Scroll and mailed to 20,000 high school principals throughout the country last spring. His work in scholastic journalism has been recognized by the following awards: Columbia Scholastic Press Association's Gold Key; Journalism Education Association's Carl Towley Award; and the National Scholastic Press Association's Pioneer Award.

For more information about the AEJMC award, contact Laura Schaub, associate professor of journalism at the University of Okalahoma, at (405) 325-2453 or