The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


604 Jefferson Building
(319) 335-0617
300 Plaza Centre One
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0012; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: Oct. 31, 2002

Task Force Formed On Undergraduate Arrest Rates At UI

University of Iowa Faculty Senate President Jeffrey Cox and University of Iowa Student Government President Nick Herbold have announced the appointment of a joint Faculty-Student Task Force on Undergraduate Arrest Rates.

Faculty and student concern with undergraduate arrest rates was heightened last spring by press reports that more than more 10 percent of male undergraduates were arrested each year between 1997 and 2001, and that the University of Iowa led the nation in on-campus drug arrests in 2001.

The committee has been asked to gather reliable and systematic data about student arrest and citation rates at the University of Iowa, other Iowa campuses and comparable campuses nationally, with particular focus on alcohol- and drug-related incidences. It will also gather information about legal aid available to Iowa students and examine consequences of student arrests at Iowa for individuals, the campus, the community, and other relevant constituencies. The committee will explore experiences with and ideas for alternative strategies to arrests and examine other related issues the committee deems appropriate. The committee will report its findings to the Faculty Senate by early April 2003.

Judy Polumbaum, associate professor, journalism and mass communication, will chair the task force. She will be joined by faculty John B. Whiston, clinical professor of law and Legal Clinic supervisor in the College of Law, and Warren Piette, professor in the department of dermatology at the Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine. Student members are: Rachel E Kolen, a music/journalism major from Iowa City; Matt Blizek vice president of UI Student Government and a political science major from Centerville, Iowa; and Gillian Rosenberg, a political science/ journalism major from Winnetka, Ill.

For more information, contact the Faculty Senate office at (319) 335-0617