The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

300 Plaza Centre One
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0009; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: Nov. 26, 2002

Chemical engineering students receive national recognition

For the 10th consecutive year, the University of Iowa student chapter of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE) has received the Outstanding Student Chapter Award at the National AIChE meeting, held Nov. 3-8 in Indianapolis. The chapter also won third place in the category "Outstanding Student Chapter Website."

Elected UI student chapter officers for the spring 2002 semester included (student name) of (hometown), chapter (office title) and a (year in school) in the University of Iowa College of Engineering.

According to David Murhammer, faculty advisor to the chapter and associate professor of chemical and biochemical engineering, the Outstanding Student Chapter Award is based on student work during the 2001-02 academic year, and the Web site award is due primarily to the work of Tracey Irwin during the spring 2002 semester.

One of 11 colleges on the University of Iowa campus, the College of Engineering has educational courses that date back more than a century. It teaches disciplines in biomedical, chemical and biochemical, civil and environmental, electrical and computer, industrial, and mechanical engineering. The college is recognized for its small, personalized size, and focused mission. Its location on a strong liberal arts campus -- with natural strengths in writing and communications, health sciences, business, law, and arts and humanities -- provides highly complementary resources to build the type of broad technological education demanded in a rapidly changing world. The college excels internationally in several specialty and interdisciplinary research areas, such as computer-aided design and simulation, human factors, environmental health solutions, biotechnology, medical imaging, hydraulics and water/air resources, and polymerization.

EDITOR: Students are listed alphabetically by hometown, with Iowa participants listed first and those from other states following.


CEDAR FALLS: Jordan Backstrom, vice president, junior.
NORTH LIBERTY: Tracy Irwin, activities coordinator, junior.
RUDD: Andy Campbell, president, junior.
SOLON: Brett Darrow, treasurer, senior.


CREST HILL: Joe Grodecki, vice president, junior.


WAUKESHA: Doug Kallin, treasurer, senior.