The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

300 Plaza Centre One
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0007; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: May 31, 2002

Omicron Delta Kappa announces initiates

The Beta Iota Circle of Omicron Delta Kappa (ODK) held its annual initiation ceremony April 21 on the campus of the University of Iowa. The ceremony, which honored 19 outstanding student leaders on the UI campus, served also to mark the beginning of each student's membership in ODK, the National Leadership Honor Society.

(NAME) of (HOMETOWN) was one of the students receiving membership in the society. (LAST NAME) is a (NAME OF MAJOR) major at the University of Iowa.

Omicron Delta Kappa was founded Dec. 3, 1914 at Washington and Lee University, Lexington, Virginia, by 15 student and faculty leaders. The founders formulated the idea that leadership of exceptional quality and versatility in college should be recognized, that representatives in all phases of college life should cooperate in worthwhile endeavors, and that outstanding students, faculty, and administrators should meet on a basis of mutual interest, understanding, and helpfulness. ODK was the first college honor society of a national scope to give recognition and honor for meritorious leadership and service in extracurricular activities and to encourage development of general campus citizenship. These ideals still exist today as the Society has expanded from its initial circle to more than 275 collegiate circles in 37 states.

The Beta Iota Circle at the University of Iowa was founded on May 10, 1947, as a successor to the Senior Men's Society, "All for Iowa," or better known as simply AFI. Many of the traditions started by AFI in the first half of this century are still carried on by the active members of the circle. Some of the circle's current activities include selecting the UI "Dad of the Year," hosting an annual Homecoming open house for current and alumni members, volunteering at the Greenwood Manor Senior Center, and preparing meals for families staying at the Ronald McDonald House.

The April 21 initiation ceremony included the traditional ODK ceremony for induction of new members as well as an address by Samuel L. Becker, University of Iowa professor emeritus.

EDITORS: Receipt of this news release indicates that someone from your coverage area was an ODK initiate. Initiates' names are listed below. Iowa students are listed first, in order of hometown, followed by out of state students.


BETTENDORF: Anne Catherine Wellman, nursing
BLAIRSTOWN: Kodi Blossom Scheer, psychology and biology
CARROLL: Diane Thi Tran, biomedical engineering/pre-medicine
CEDAR RAPIDS: Kara Marie Westercamp, finance and management
CLARKSVILLE: Dana Ann Deuell, journalism and mass communication
CLEAR LAKE: Anne Cherry, physics
CLIVE: Leslie Anne Anderson, exercise science/pre-dentistry
COUNCIL BLUFFS: Marly Maria McGruder, exercise science
HARTWICK: Amanda Renee Fredericks, studio art
IOWA CITY: Anna Kathryn Lackender, journalism and mass communication
LEMARS: Kristin M. Trotzig, finance and marketing
MADRID: Amanda J. Mataya, exercise science/pre-optometry
ODEBOLT: Angela Mary Schroeder, exercise science
RYAN: Sean McEvoy, psychology
URBANDALE: Anne L. Hummel, industrial engineering; Quinn Phillip Johnson, accounting and finance


CARY: Regina Leigh Graafsma, mathematics/secondary education certification
EAST MOLINE: Betsy Ann Zude, elementary education
ROCKFORD: David Joseph Cooling, political science