The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us
5139 Westlawn
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 335-8032; fax (319) 384-4638

Release: May 31, 2002

UI Carver College of Medicine honors six graduates with Distinguished Alumni Awards

Six University of Iowa Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine alumni were presented with Distinguished Alumni Awards at a ceremony May 30 in Iowa City.

The college's Distinguished Alumni Award is the highest collegiate honor bestowed upon an alumnus. Established in 1998, the awards are given annually in two categories: achievement and service.

The Award for Service is presented to alumni for meritorious service to their community, state or nation. This year's recipients are Nile Dusdieker, M.D., and Thin Thin Hlaing, M.S.

Dusdieker received his bachelor's degree in 1970 and his medical degree in 1974 at the UI. He was honored for his service as a practitioner, medical educator and community leader in Cedar Rapids. Along with a successful internal medicine practice, he is a volunteer faculty member for the college, teaching family practice and internal medicine residents. Outside of medicine, he served on the Clear Creek-Amana School Board for 10 years, including a four-year term as president. Dusdieker is also an accomplished musician, having received a bachelor of music degree along with his bachelor of arts degree from the UI. He resides in North Liberty.

Thin Thin Hlaing received a master's degree in biochemistry from the UI in 1961. She was honored for her service to medical education in her home country of Myanmar (formerly Burma). Her efforts helped develop the field of biochemistry in Myanmar, which made it possible for the Institute of Medicine, Yangoon, to offer a master's degree in biochemistry. She also was involved in numerous multicultural programs to benefit the institution and its students. She served as the first professor of biochemistry at the Institute of Medicine, Yangoon, and currently serves as chair and professor of biochemistry at Defense Services Institute of Medicine in Myanmar.

The Award for Achievement honors alumni for significant accomplishments in science and medicine. This year's recipients are John Herr, Ph.D., Diane Magrane, M.D., Roy Pitkin, M.D., and Jean Robillard, M.D.

Herr received his Ph.D. degree in medicine from the UI in 1978. He was honored for his outstanding research and scientific vision. His leading research in reproductive immunology led to new approaches in contraception in the United States. He established and directs the Center for Recombinant Gamete Contraceptive Vaccinogens, an internationally recognized center in reproductive immunology at the University of Virginia. Herr has translated many of his research findings into inventions in the fields of infertility, contraception, forensic science and cancer biology. He resides in Ivy, Va.

Magrane is a 1974 graduate of the UI, where she also received her medical degree in 1978. She was honored for her achievements as a visionary leader in medical education and champion of women's health as a clinician and a scholar. Magrane has made important educational contributions, such as the co-development of a model, "New Clerkship Director's Workshop," which is now employed across several disciplines. Magrane is professor of obstetrics and gynecology and associate dean for medical education at the University of Vermont College of Medicine. As associate dean, she developed the new Vermont Integrated Curriculum for undergraduate medical education. She also has served as director of clinical clerkship programs in obstetrics and gynecology at both Vermont and St. Louis University Medical School. She is actively involved in several national organizations and was recently elected the 2002 president for the Association of Professors of Gynecology and Obstetrics. Magrane resides in North Hero, Vt.

Pitkin received his bachelor’s degree in 1956, his medical degree in 1959, and completed his residency in obstetrics and gynecology in 1963 at the UI. He was honored for his achievements as one of the leading academic obstetrician-gynecologists in the United States. Among his greatest achievements is the development of the method to determine fetal maturity through amniocentesis. Throughout his career, Pitkin was known as a champion of the education of medical students. He served as president of the Society for Gynecologic Investigation, the Society of Perinatal Obstetricians, the American Gynecological and Obstetrical Society and as editor of the journal Obstetrics and Gynecology. He has also led many National Academy of Sciences panels dealing with issues related to nutrition in pregnancy. He is retired and resides in La Quinta, Calif.

Robillard participated in a fellowship in pediatrics at the UI in 1974. He was honored for his achievements in the field of pediatrics and pediatric nephrology. His research helped create the field of fetal renal physiology and influenced international efforts to explore and develop knowledge of the kidney and vascular system. During his 20-year term as director of the nephrology division in the UI Department of Internal Medicine, Robillard built an internationally recognized research and research-training program. He is currently chair of the University of Michigan pediatrics department as well as physician-in-chief for Mott Children's Hospital. He resides in Ann Arbor, Mich.

University of Iowa Health Care describes the partnership between the UI Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine and UI Hospitals and Clinics and the patient care, medical education and research programs and services they provide.